Hennepin County Library - KidLinks
homework tools
home > homework help > homework help databases and websites
 
homework help databases and websites
DATABASES
 
Amazing Animals of the World
Information on animals from aardvarks to zebras, including color photos and games.
American Indian Experience
Primary documents, including treaties, speeches, traditional tales, maps and photos.
Biography Resource Center
Information on more than one million people from throughout history.
Birds of North America Online
Comprehensive life histories, including maps, image & video galleries, and audio recordings of birds' songs and calls.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Full-text of widely read poems, including commentaries and biographies.
Contemporary World Music
Listen to sounds from all regions of every continent. Explore by region or by style of music.
CultureGrams
Covers people, land, customs, lifestyle, and recipes. Includes U.S. states.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Una enciclopedia de conocimientos generales, para los grados primarios y secundarios. Contiene información sobre gente, lugares, objetos, acontecimientos e ideas. Aprovecha esta enciclopedia para investigar y divertirte.
Encylopædia Britannica Online
An in-depth encyclopedia of information covering a wide variety of topics and people.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Detailed information covering evolution, reproduction, ecology, behavior, importance to humans, and conservation.
History Resource Center: U.S.
Primary documents, secondary sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history.
History Resource Center: World
Broad coverage in all regions of the world from the ancient Mediterranean era through the 20th century.
InfoTrac Kids
Full text articles from magazines, newspapers, and reference books.
Infotrac Student
Full text articles from magazines, newspapers, and reference books. Historical images and maps included. 1985 to present.
Kids InfoBits
Information from magazines, newspapers, and reference books.
Kids InfoBits - Animals
Information from magazines, newspapers, and reference books.
Kids InfoBits - People
Information from magazines, newspapers, and reference books.
Lands & Peoples
Information about people, geography, economy, language, culture, and history. Lands & Peoples books online.
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 120,000 authors.
New Book of Popular Science
Homework help with animals, astronomy, chemistry, math, plants, technology and more.
Science Resource Center
In-depth information on wide number of science topics. Includes magazine and newspaper articles.
StarTribune
Full text of articles from the newspaper, 1986 to present. See also Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922).
Statesman's Yearbook
Country information includes politics, population, economics, education, legal systems and more.
Student Resource Center
Covers biography, literature, history, and science. Includes primary documents. Search by Lexile scores in Advanced Search.
Today's Science @FACTS.com
Science news including hot topics, basic facts, biographies of scientists, and a glossary.
Tumblebook Library
Click on Story Books to listen to children's books. Includes picture books and chapter books.
Tumblebook Library (Spanish)
Buscar Libros de Cuentos. Escuchar a los libros en español.
Wildlife and Plants of the World
Find maps showing natural habitat and range, plus color photos and easy-to-read facts.
World Book Online (Student)
All articles from the print World Book encyclopedia plus links to approved websites. Updated monthly.
 
 
WEBSITES
 
African American Registry 
An encyclopedia of African American biography, history, and poetry. Organized by calendar year and by subject.
Americas Book Awards 
America's Story 
Famous Americans, the 50 states and more. Jump back in time to your birth date. From the Library of Congress.
Amusement Park Physics 
Bumper cars, roller coasters, free fall rides - all are designed using basic laws of physics. Learn more!
Animal Diversity Web 
Complete facts plus pictures, sounds, and classification. From the University of Michigan.
Animal Sounds 
Listen to animal sounds and find animal facts.
Animals at the Minnesota Zoo 
Facts and photos about 80+ animals found at the Minnesota Zoo.
ARKive 
Find info about threatened species including habitats, range, photos, and video.
Ask for Kids 
Search engine for kids.
Author Websites 
Fun facts about favorite authors with links to their websites.
Award Winning Books 
Lists of award winning books with links to the catalog.
Ben's Guide to Government 
Information about how government works. Organized by grade level. From the U.S. Government.
Biography - Best Books 
Inspiring stories about real people. Books are linked to the catalog.
Black History 
Photos and information about famous African-Americans, plus links to books, timelines, places in history and more.
Books & Reading 
Booklists from Hennepin County Library to help you find the right book to read.
Books for Beginning Readers 
Titles for emerging readers, from easiest words to first chapter books.
Butterflies of North America 
Start here to find butterflies native to a state. From the U.S. Government Department of the Interior.
CALCULATOR 
Online calculator.
Caldecott Medal Winners 
Climate Change 
Facts about climate, weather, and greenhouse effect.
Conversiones Métricas 
Calculadoras para conversiones de medidas
Cool Math 4 Kids 
Games for learning math facts, plus activities for learning fractions and geometry.
Coretta Scott King Awards 
Country Factbook - CIA 
Complete and detailed facts about all countries.
Creature Feature 
Focus on unusual animals. Photos, video, audio, & facts from National Geographic.
Dictionary 
Student dictionary from Merriam-Webster. Includes illustrations.
Dictionary of math words 
Includes images which help to explain math words.
Dinosaurs 
A guide to over 300 dinosaurs. Includes timeline and countries where dinosaurs lived.
Diviertate con Ciencia 
Entra y vea nuestros juegos, animacíones, proyectos, y hechos asombrosos sobre la Tierra, el espacio, y tecnología
Dr. Seuss Award 
Best author or illustrator of books for beginning readers. Known as the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award.
Energy Kids 
Facts, games and a glossary will help you learn about all kinds of energy.
Fact Monster 
Geography Quiz 
Practice naming the countries of the world by continent. Created by Lizard Point consulting.
Giggle Poetry 
Hundreds of poems for kids to read and rate.
Grammar Gorillas 
Nouns, verbs, adjectives and more. Click here to practice naming parts of speech.
Graphs & charts - make one 
An easy tool for creating graphs and charts.
Gryphon Award 
Best easy-to-read books for children Grades K - 4.
Guided Reading Levels, Lexile Score & Accelerated Reader 
Information about these reading tools.
How Things Are Made 
Use the search box to find detailed information. Excellent drawings included.
InfoPlease Biography 
More than 30,000 biographies from Information Please Almanac. Search by name or subject.
Information Book Sibert Award 
Juegos para Leer 
Juegos por números, letras, palabras, y mas.
Kids Health 
Full of fun and healthy facts about you. Don't miss the Daily Brain Buzz!
Kids Post 
Short news stories from the Washington Post of interest to kids.
KidsClick! 
Latino - Pura Belpre Award 
MadSci Network 
Explore Mad Labs, Ask-A-Scientist, or search the MadSci Library for questions and answers.
Map Machine 
Includes physical, political and country maps; flags and brief country profiles; re-sizeable, printable maps. From National Geographic.
Map Maker - States 
Maps of the United States showing state capitals, weather, history, geology and more. Printable maps available.
Math facts - make flashcards 
Create and print your own flashcards.
Math facts - practice all 0-12 
Timed practice with any numbers you choose between 0 and 12.
Math facts - practice baseball 
Practice addition, subtraction, multiplication and division.
Measures - calculator 
Conversion calculator - covers length, weight, and temperature.
Measures - change from Metric 
Formulas to change from metric to U.S, system.
Measures - change to Metric 
Formulas to change from U.S. system to metric.
Minnesota 
State symbols, history, trivia and more fun facts.
Minnesota - Maud Hart Lovelace 
Minnesota Community Profiles 
Statistics profiles of Minnesota communities.
Minnesota History Center 
Photos and more about Minnesota people, places, and history.
Money - make change 
Practice choosing the right change. Easy to hard games.
Native American Websites 
Information from over 100 websites about Native American tribes. From Multnomah County Library, OR.
Native Americans: Facts for Kids 
Excellent for school reports. Information on over 33 Native American tribes, including Chippewa (Ojibwe).
Native Web: Nations List 
Alphabetical list of tribes and nations, including local groups. Links to official websites included.
New York Times 
Today's news for kids Grades 3-12.
Newbery Medal Winners 
News for Kids 
Top news stories and features from around the world, written for kids. From Scholastic Publishing.
Newton's Apple 
Facts, video and science fair ideas from the Newton's Apple TV show.
Pet Care 
Covers dogs, cats, birds, rabbits and smaller pets.
Presidents of the United States 
Click on arrows by small photos to find all Presidents.
Schneider Family Book Award 
Science Fair Project Guide 
A collection of websites that give examples of and instructions for science fair projects.
Science Fair Project Ideas 
Science fair project ideas. Sort by grade level and topic. Complete instructions included.
Science News for Kids 
Articles on a wide variety of science topics. Check out the ScienceFairZone!
Series Books from Series Binder 
Space Place 
Games, animations, projects, and fun facts about Earth, space and technology.
Stately Knowledge 
Facts and links to official state websites.
Thesaurus 
Find words and their synonyms (same meaning) and antonyms (opposite meaning).
This Day in History 
Choose a day of the month to find out what happened in past years. From the History Channel.
Time Capsule: On the Day You Were Born 
Enter a day, month and year. Then click on Quick Page to get a list of news headlines, top songs, prices, and more.
Time Magazine for Kids 
Online version of the Time magazine, written for kids.
U. S. History Timeline 
Key events in America, four sections: before 1492 | 1492-1783 | 1783-1900 | 20th Century
Yahooligans!