Hennepin County Library - KidLinks
homework tools
home > homework help > animals
 
animals
DATABASES
 
Amazing Animals of the World
Information on animals from aardvarks to zebras, including color photos and games.
Birds of North America Online
Provides life histories of bird species breeding in USA (including Hawaii) and Canada. Recordings of songs and calls. Image and video galleries.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Detailed information covering evolution, reproduction, ecology, behavior, importance to humans, and conservation.
Kids InfoBits
For beginning researchers in K-5. Full-text content is from elementary reference sources and magazines. Topics cover geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history and sports.
Kids Search
Offers magazine articles, biographies, essays, science resources, primary source documents, photos and maps. For elementary and middle school students.
National Geographic Magazine
Search the complete archive of National Geographic magazine along with a collection of books, maps, images and videos. Archive includes 1888-Current.
Searchasaurus
Search for encyclopedia and magazine articles about your favorite topic. Includes images and a dictionary. For kids in grades K-5.
 
 
WEBSITES
 
Animal Diversity Web 
Complete facts plus pictures, sounds, and classification. From the University of Michigan.
Animal Facts 
Photos and facts from National Geographic.
Animal Sounds 
Listen to animal sounds and find animal facts.
Animals at the Minnesota Zoo 
Facts and photos about 80+ animals found at the Minnesota Zoo.
ARKive 
Find info about threatened species including habitats, range, photos, and video.
Butterflies 
Life cycles,photos and FAQs. See more at Butterflies and Moths of North America
Dinosaurs 
A guide to over 300 dinosaurs. Includes timeline and countries where dinosaurs lived.