Hennepin County Library - KidLinks
homework tools
home > homework help > biography
 
biography
DATABASES
 
Biography In Context
Biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Searchable by birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. Results include images, audio, and articles from periodicals and reference books.
Britannica Reference Center
Accompanying the expansive encyclopedia articles are primary sources, news, websites, video, images, magazine articles, eBooks, and an interactive atlas.
Kids InfoBits
For beginning researchers in K-5. Full-text content is from elementary reference sources and magazines. Topics cover geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history and sports.
Searchasaurus
Search for encyclopedia and magazine articles about your favorite topic. Includes images and a dictionary. For kids in grades K-5.
Student Resources in Context
Subjects include biography, literature, history, science, and multiculturalism. Includes full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary documents, topical essays, biographies, critical analyses, timelines, photos and maps.
 
 
WEBSITES
 
African American Registry 
An encyclopedia of African American people and heritage. Search by keyword, category or by name.
Biography - Best Books 
Inspiring stories about real people. Books are linked to the catalog.
Black History 
Photos and information about famous African-Americans, plus links to books, timelines, places in history and more.
First Ladies of the United States 
Learn about the wives of the Presidents.
InfoPlease Biography 
More than 30,000 biographies from Information Please Almanac. Search by name or subject.
Presidents of the United States 
Photos and facts from whitehouse.gov
Women's History 
Biographies of notable women and information on the history of women’s rights.