Hennepin County Library - KidLinks
homework tools
home > homework help > countries & states
 
countries & states
DATABASES
 
America the Beautiful
Offers state history and current events. Includes images, maps, a timeline, quizzes and games. For elementary and middle school students.
Contemporary World Music
Listen to and create playlists of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from every continent. Liner notes available in PDF.
CultureGrams
Country histories, lifestyles, customs, statistical data, embassy contacts, images, maps, sounds, and recipes are provided.
FreedomFlix
Explore significant events in history using Scholastic's Cornerstones of Freedom book series. You can watch videos, read books online and other related material, visit recommended websites, do a project, and answer questions about your topic.
Kids InfoBits
For beginning researchers in K-5. Full-text content is from elementary reference sources and magazines. Topics cover geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history and sports.
Kids Search
Offers magazine articles, biographies, essays, science resources, primary source documents, photos and maps. For elementary and middle school students.
Lands & Peoples
Interactive encyclopedia of countries cultures and events. Covers land, climate, people, government. Includes maps, images, data, time-lines, and links.
National Geographic Magazine
Search the complete archive of National Geographic magazine along with a collection of books, maps, images and videos. Archive includes 1888-Current.
Searchasaurus
Search for encyclopedia and magazine articles about your favorite topic. Includes images and a dictionary. For kids in grades K-5.
Statesman's Yearbook
Covers history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country. Offers chronologies, information about international organizations and an archive of yearbooks back to the 1860's. Includes reading lists and web links for further research.
TrueFlix
Investigate people, places, history as well as science and nature by reading books and articles, watching videos, doing projects, playing games, and exploring related websites.
 
 
WEBSITES
 
Ben's Guide to Government 
Information about how government works. Organized by grade level. From the U.S. Government.
Country Factbook - CIA 
Complete and detailed facts about all countries.
Geography Quiz 
Practice naming the countries of the world by continent. Created by Lizard Point consulting.
Kids.gov 
Explore, learn and have fun with government sites about history, health, science and more.
Map Maker - United States 
Choose to show state capitals, weather, history, geology and more. Printable maps available.
Maps to print 
Print maps from continents to countries with or without country labels. From National Geographic.
Minnesota 
State symbols, history, trivia and more fun facts.
Minnesota Community Profiles 
Statistics profiles of Minnesota communities.
Minnesota History Center 
Photos and more about Minnesota people, places, and history.
Stately Knowledge 
Facts and links to official state websites.