bookspacePhoto of readerfind a good book
 home > bookspace > food writing
Nonfiction books about eating, cooking, and restaurants.

31 listings found. Displaying 1 - 20

Print this list Print this list
 Email this list
 
  Cover Art: Best Food Writing 2012 Best Food Writing 2012
Epicure, foodie, gastronome, gourmet, gourmand, glutton-whatever term you embrace, our cultural fascination with food shows no sign of waning. And as in previous years, Best Food Writing 2012 is the place to go for heaping helpings of the most provocative, entertaining, delicious food writing of the year.
2012
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Eat Memory: Great Writers at the Table: A Collection of Essays from the New York Times Eat Memory: Great Writers at the Table: A Collection of Essays from the New York Times
New York Times Magazine-food editor Hesser has showcased the food-inspired recollections of some of America's leading writers. Eat, Memory collects the 26 best stories and recipes from some of the playwrights, novelists, and journalists featured in her column.
2009
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Life On the Line: A Chef's Story of Chasing Greatness Facing Death and Redefining the Way We Eat Achatz, Grant
Life On the Line: A Chef's Story of Chasing Greatness Facing Death and Redefining the Way We Eat
Achatz, "one of America's great chefs" (Vogue), shares how his drive to cook immaculate food won him international renown--and fueled his miraculous triumph over tongue cancer. "Life, on the Line" is also a book about survival, about nurturing creativity, and about profound friendship.
2011
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Far Flung and Well Fed: The Food Writing of R.W. Apple, Jr. Apple, R. W.
Far Flung and Well Fed: The Food Writing of R.W. Apple, Jr.
This collection of essays from legendary "New York Times" reporter Johnny Apple recounts extraordinary meals and little-known facts behind some of the world's most excellent foods.
2009
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: No Reservations: Around the World On an Empty Stomach Bourdain, Anthony
No Reservations: Around the World On an Empty Stomach
The host of the Travel Channel series No Reservations provides a behind-the-scenes account of his global culinary adventures, from New Jersey to New Zealand, offering commentary on food in every corner of the globe.
2007
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: My Life in France Child, Julia
My Life in France
A memoir begun just months before Child's death describes the legendary food expert's years in Paris, Marseille, and Provence and her journey from a young woman from Pasadena who cannot cook or speak any French to the publication of her legendary Mastering cookbooks and her winning the hearts of America as "The French Chef."
2006
Adult Nonfiction Book (Biography)
  Cover Art: Blue Plate Special: An Autobiography of My Appetites Christensen, Kate
Blue Plate Special: An Autobiography of My Appetites
"In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, [this book] is a narrative in which food--eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it--becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger--not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging--with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists"--Dust jacket flap.
2013
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Eating: A Memoir Epstein, Jason
Eating: A Memoir
Jason Epstein, the legendary editor and publisher of Norman Mailer, Vladimir Nabokov, Gore Vidal, and E. L. Doctorow, among many other distinguished writers, and the editor of such great chefs and bakers as Alice Waters, Wolfgang Puck, and Maida Heatter, takes us on a culinary tour through his eventful life, beginning with his childhood summers in Maine, where his decision to improve upon his grandmother's chicken pot pie that led to a lifetime at the stove.
2009
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: M.F.K. Fisher: Musings On Wine and other Libations Fisher, M. F. K.
M.F.K. Fisher: Musings On Wine and other Libations
"For M.F.K. Fisher, the enjoyment of food and wine were inextricably linked. As the greatest female food writer of the 20th century, her dozens of books and essays are bursting with mindful observations about eating with gusto and the distinctive pleasure that comes from nourishing yourself and others. Thus, it's not surprising that most of her expansive body of work contains many references to wine. But in this book, wine is the central character."--Provided by publisher.
2012
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Old-school Comfort Food: The Way I Learned to Cook Guarnaschelli, Alex
Old-school Comfort Food: The Way I Learned to Cook
"How does one become an Iron Chef and a Chopped judge on Food Network--and what does she really cook at home? Alex Guarnaschelli grew up in a home suffused with a love of cooking, where souffles and cheeseburgers were equally revered. The daughter of a respected cookbook editor and a Chinese cooking enthusiast, Alex developed a passion for food at a young age, sealing her professional fate."--Provided by publisher.
2013
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Blood, Bones, and Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef Hamilton, Gabrielle
Blood, Bones, and Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef
Before Gabrielle Hamilton opened her acclaimed New York restaurant Prune, she spent twenty fierce, hard-living years trying to find purpose and meaning in her life. Above all she sought to try and create a family like the one that was upended when her parents divorced. This is a story of family, food, and writing.
2011
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: The Tenth Muse: My Life in Food Jones, Judith
The Tenth Muse: My Life in Food
Judith Jones edits both John Updike and Anne Tyler, but her fame will always reside in the the fact that she created a food revolution in America as editor to Julia Child, Marcella Hazan, James Beard, and Madhur Jaffrey to name a few. This memoir will delight foodies, Francophiles, and lovers of literary fiction.
2007
Adult Nonfiction Book (Biography)
  Cover Art: Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life Kingsolver, Barbara
Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life
Follows the author's family's efforts to live on locally- and home-grown foods, an endeavor through which they learned lighthearted truths about food production and the connection between health and diet.
2007
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: The Food of a Younger Land Kurlansky, Mark
The Food of a Younger Land
Before the national highway system brought the country closer together; before chain restaurants imposed uniformity and low quality; and before the Frigidaire meant frozen food in mass quantities, the nation’s food was seasonal, regional, and traditional. It helped form the distinct character, attitudes, and customs of those who ate it.
2009
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti Melucci, Giulia
I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti
A Brooklyn-based publicist's account of her relationships gone awry, and the food that sustained her through it all.
2009
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Baking with the St. Paul Bread Club: Recipes, Tips, Stories Ode, Kim
Baking with the St. Paul Bread Club: Recipes, Tips, Stories
Members of the St. Paul Bread Club share their recipes and their stories along with a few of the group's secrets to the perfect loaf. A delightful book for both beginning and expert bakers and any reader who enjoys fine writing.
2006
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Rhubarb Renaissance Ode, Kim
Rhubarb Renaissance
Kim Ode invites us to join her in celebrating rhubarb as one of the great flavours of horticulture. In a lively re-introduction to this versatile vegetable, over fifty creative recipes highlight uses from savoury to sweet. Notes on rhubarb's historic medicinal uses, preservation advice, and kitchen basics including foundation recipes for roasted rhubarb set up a selection of appetisers, entrées, desserts, and breads.
2012
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Cooked: A Natural History of Transformation Pollan, Michael
Cooked: A Natural History of Transformation
"In Cooked, Pollan explores the previously uncharted territory of his own kitchen. Here, he discovers the enduring power of the four classical elements--fire, water, air, and earth--to transform the stuff of nature into delicious things to eat and drink. In the course of his journey, he discovers that the cook occupies a special place in the world, standing squarely between nature and culture. Both realms are transformed by cooking, and so, in the process, is the cook" --Provided by publisher.
2013
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: In Defense of Food: An Eater's Manifesto Pollan, Michael
In Defense of Food: An Eater's Manifesto
Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants. These simple words go to the heart of food journalist Pollan's thesis. Humans used to know how to eat well, he argues, but the balanced dietary lessons that were once passed down through generations have been confused and distorted by food industry marketers, nutritional scientists, and journalists. As a result, we face today a complex culinary landscape dense with bad advice and foods that are not real.
2008
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals Pollan, Michael
The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals
Today, buffeted by one food fad after another, America is suffering from a national eating disorder. As the cornucopia of the modern American supermarket and fast food outlet confronts us with a bewildering and treacherous landscape, what's at stake becomes not only our own and our children's health, but the health of the environment that sustains life on earth.
2006
Adult Nonfiction Book
Print this list Print this list
 Email this list
 
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS