bookspacePhoto of readerfind a good book
 home > bookspace > alex award - nonfiction
Since 1998 the American Library Association (ALA) has picked the top 10 adult books for teens. Here's a selection.

42 listings found. Displaying 1 - 20

Print this list Print this list
 Email this list
 
  Cover Art: The Endurance: Shackleton's Legendary Antarctic Expedition Alexander, Caroline
The Endurance: Shackleton's Legendary Antarctic Expedition
Drawing on previously unavailable sources, this riveting account of Sir Ernest Shackleton's 1914 expedition to Antarctica presents, for the first time, 150 images by Australian photographer Frank Hurley, whose stunning visual record of the ordeal was--amazingly--preserved. [1999 Winner]
1998
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Candyfreak: a Journey Through the Chocolate Underbelly of America Almond, Steve
Candyfreak: a Journey Through the Chocolate Underbelly of America
After confessing to being a lifelong chocoholic, the aptly named Almond (creative writing, Boston College) traces the history and bittersweet business practices of the companies producing those addictive candy bars. He includes relevant Web sites. [2005 Winner]
2004
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: One Shot at Forever : a Small Town an Unlikely Coach and a Magical Baseball Season Ballard, Chris.
One Shot at Forever : a Small Town an Unlikely Coach and a Magical Baseball Season
In 1971, a small-town high school baseball team from rural Illinois playing with hand-me-down uniforms and peace signs on their hats defied convention and the odds. Led by an English teacher with no coaching experience, the Macon Ironmen emerged to become the smallest school in Illinois history to make the state final. There the Ironmen would play a dramatic game against a Chicago powerhouse that would change their lives forever.[2013 winner]
2012
Adult Nonfiction Book
Other formats available
  Cover Art: One Hundred Demons Barry, Lynda
One Hundred Demons
Buddhism teaches that each person must overcome 100 demons in a lifetime. In this collection of 20 comic strips, Lynda Barry wrestles with some of hers in her signature quirky, irrepressible voice. Color illustrations throughout. [2003 Winner]
2002
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier Beah, Ishmael
A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier
In a heart-wrenching, candid autobiography, a human rights activist offers a firsthand account of war from the perspective of a former child soldier, detailing the violent civil war that wracked his native Sierra Leone and the government forces that transformed a gentle young boy into a killer as a member of the army. [2008 Winner]
2007
Adult Nonfiction Book (Biography)
  Cover Art: The Secret Family: Twenty-four Hours Inside the Mysterious World of Our Minds and Bodies Bodanis, David
The Secret Family: Twenty-four Hours Inside the Mysterious World of Our Minds and Bodies
Extraordinary photography and fascinating text observe what goes on in our minds and bodies through a day of ordinary activities. Full color throughout. [1998 Winner]
1997
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Flags of Our Fathers Bradley, James
Flags of Our Fathers
In February 1945, American Marines plunged into the surf at Iwo Jima--and into history. Through a hail of machine-gun and mortar fire that left the beaches strewn with comrades, they battled to the island's highest peak. And after climbing through a landscape of hell itself, they raised a flag. [2001 Winner]
2006
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: All Over but the Shoutin' Bragg, Rick
All Over but the Shoutin'
This haunting, harrowing, and gloriously moving recollection of a life on the American margin tells the story of Rick Bragg, who grew up dirt poor in Alabama, and who became a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for "The New York Times". [1998 Winner]
1997
Adult Nonfiction Book (Biography)
  Cover Art: High Exposure: an Enduring Passion for Everest and Unforgiving Places Breashears, David
High Exposure: an Enduring Passion for Everest and Unforgiving Places
Breashears's passion for climbing began on the cliffs of Boulder, Colorado--and nearly ended on the south side of Everest in 1996. From childhood, Breashears felt irresistibly drawn to the Himalayas' promise of adventure and unforgiving demands on body, mind, and soul. [2000 Winner]
1999
Adult Nonfiction Book (Biography)
  Cover Art: Educating Esme: Diary of a Teacher's First Year Codell, Esme Raji
Educating Esme: Diary of a Teacher's First Year
"Educating Esme" is the uncensored diary of Codell's first year teaching in a Chicago public school. [2000 Winner]
1999
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Counting Coup: a True Story of Basketball and Honor On the Little Big Horn Colton, Larry
Counting Coup: a True Story of Basketball and Honor On the Little Big Horn
This work by freelance journalist Colton is a brilliant account of a teenage Native American girl who fought for honor on and off the basketball courts. [2001 Winner]
2000
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: My Losing Season Conroy, Pat
My Losing Season
Takes the reader through [the author's] last year playing basketball, as point guard and captain of The Citadel Bulldogs [2003 Winner]
2002
Adult Nonfiction Book (Biography)
  Cover Art: Swimming to Antarctica: Tales of a Long-distance Swimmer Cox, Lynne
Swimming to Antarctica: Tales of a Long-distance Swimmer
Cox was inducted into the Swimming Hall of Fame in 2000, and between her plunges, has written extensively about her adventures. Some of the two dozen essays here have appeared in The New Yorker or The Los Angeles Times. [2005 Winner]
2004
Adult Nonfiction Book (Biography)
  Cover Art: Eagle Blue: a Team, a Tribe, and a High School Basketball Season in Arctic Alaska D'Orso, Michael
Eagle Blue: a Team, a Tribe, and a High School Basketball Season in Arctic Alaska
The Fort Yukon Eagles, winners of six consecutive regional championships, are the pride and joy of their tribe. Each year, from November to March, the Eagles struggle through the Arctic winter's brutal cold and near-continual darkness, in search of a championship and an identity. [2007 Winner]
2006
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: An American Insurrection: the Battle of Oxford Mississippi 1962 Doyle, William
An American Insurrection: the Battle of Oxford Mississippi 1962
A definitive account of a key event in American history describes James Meredith's efforts to become the first African-American student at the University of Mississippi, the battle of radical segregationist Governor Ross Barnett to block it, the influx of government combat troops, and the armed rebellion that resulted. [2002 Winner]
2001
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America Ehrenreich, Barbara
Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
A modern classic that deftly portrays the plight of America's working-class poor. Author Barbara Ehrenreich decides to see if she can scratch out a comfortable living in blue-collar America. What she discovers is a culture of desperation, where workers often take multiple low-paying jobs just to keep a roof overhead. [2002 Winner]
2001
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: The Oxford Project Feldstein, Peter
The Oxford Project
Meet the residents of Oxford, Iowa (population 676) in a series of photos taken in 1984, then again in 2004, twenty years later. Find out the stories behind the faces, and the changes and heartbreak that lie behind the smiles. [2009 Winner]
2008
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: Seeing in the Dark: How Backyard Stargazers are Probing Deep Space and Guarding Earth from Interplanetary Peril Ferris, Timothy
Seeing in the Dark: How Backyard Stargazers are Probing Deep Space and Guarding Earth from Interplanetary Peril
America's finest science writer describes a major revolution sweeping astronomy, as amateur astronomers, in global networks linked by the Internet, make discoveries that are changing knowledge of the universe. The appendix includes star charts, observing lists, and a guide on how to get involved with the stars. [2003 Winner]
2002
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: The Good Soldiers Finkel, David
The Good Soldiers
In the tradition of Black Hawk Down, The Good Soldiers takes an unforgettable look at the heroes and the ruined soldiers fighting in the Iraq War. [2010 Winner]
2009
Adult Nonfiction Book
  Cover Art: The Hungry Ocean: a Swordboat Captain's Journey Greenlaw, Linda
The Hungry Ocean: a Swordboat Captain's Journey
The world's only female swordfishing captain, who gained fame as the source for the best-selling The Perfect Storm, offers a fascinating and brine-soaked tale of a thirty-day swordfishing voyage that must endure every hardship known to mariners. [2000 Winner]
1999
Adult Nonfiction Book
Print this list Print this list
 Email this list