bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: adored /
Subscribe via RSS 
Adored
Tilly Bagshawe
Adult Fiction BAGSHAW

Comments  Summary  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

Glamour, fashion, gossip, scheming-they're all here in a page-turning debut starring Siena McMahon, feisty granddaughter of Hollywood movie legend Duke McMahon. In the tradition of Jackie Collins and Danielle Steel, Bagshawe strews Sienna's path to stardom with bumps aplenty. Family trouble began before Siena was born, when Duke decided his mistress should move in with his wife and kids, but Siena, born in 1981, had a pretty cushy childhood as a granddaughter of the wife-at least until she finds her beloved grandfather dead in the family's Hollywood manse. Siena's father, jealous of the attention Duke lavished on Siena, cows his wife into packing their outspoken 10-year-old to an English boarding school, and when Siena later defies her father's plans for her (Oxford med school) to become a supermodel (and thus kick-start an acting career) he disinherits her. Bagshawe nimbly captures Siena's fierce ambition, and like her glam novel predecessors, she keeps the pages flying with steamy sex and keen behind-the-scenes takes on the fashion, movie and television businesses. Secondary characters, such as British director wannabe Max De Seville, Sienna's on again/off again love interest, shine almost as brightly as Siena, and Bagshawe nips in an entertaining side plot about Max's half-brother's struggle to keep his 16th-century Cotswold farm from the hands of a dodgy Cockney developer. This is one of those big, juicy summer beach reads-not too deep, just wildly entertaining. Agent, Luke Janklow. Major ad/promo. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

This first novel features Siena McMahon, a sex-hungry, adventure-loving young Brit who rises to the top as a model but wants more, more, more. Bagshawe, a 31-year-old Cambridge graduate, is being billed as a nouvelle Sidney Sheldon. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

main characters Siena McMahon
Female
Feisty; love of high-living and adventure; granddaughter of Hollywood movie legend Duke McMahon; finds him dead as a child; sent to boarding school; father disinherits her.
Model



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS