bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: never end : an erik winter novel /
Subscribe via RSS 
Never end : an Erik Winter novel
Ake Edwardson
Adult Fiction EDWARDS

Comments  Summary  Reviews  Author Notes

Summary: Detective Erik Winter is back, chasing a copycat murderer in a gritty procedural from one of Europe’s most popular crime writers With twelve Erik Winter novels published in countries as diverse as Italy, Norway, France, Japan, Spain, the United Kingdom, and Germany—where the series has sold more than 700,000 copies—it’s only a matter of time before an American readership discovers what Europe has already declared: Åke Edwardson is a European master of the stylish and gritty crime novel.In Never End, the second Erik Winter novel to be translated into English, a heat wave is smothering the Swedish coastal city of Gothenburg. School is out, and parks and beaches are teeming with people. But a spate of unsolved rape/murders casts a disturbing shadow on this particular summer. Chief Inspector Erik Winter, now forty-one and a father, assembles the scant but grisly details of the crimes, and begins to see an eerie connection to a five-year-old unsolved rape/murder, a case he, in typically obsessive fashion, has refused to let go cold. Has the same rapist reemerged to taunt the police and flaunt his stolen freedom, or are these copycat crimes? In the absence of any hard leads, and haunted by the case he could not solve, Winter desperately hunts for a link bridging the victims, convinced that each crime holds the key to the others. Someone knows more than they are letting on, and Winter knows they are running out of time. Never Endis a chilling, moody novel replete with Hitchcockian depictions of Gothenburg’s vibrant summer spaces and seamy dark corners, that will appeal to readers of George Pelecanos and Elizabeth George BACKCOVER: [Erik Winter] promises to be a superior procedural series. —Booklist “Mystery fans on this side of the Atlantic can be grateful that the travails of Erik Winter…are now available in English….This dark police procedural is a topnotch work, suspenseful to the very end, with appealing characters.” —Library Journal “A large ration of suspense, as well as that other reason for enjoying mysteries: an intriguing look at life in a distant part of the world.” —Chicago Tribune “Åke Edwardson is a three-time winner of the Swedish Academy of Crime Writers’ Award and it’s easy to see why. He weaves a rich, psychologically satisfying tale. His writing is nuanced and literary, and his characters are deep and fascinating. …Readers looking for a gritty, well-paced, thoughtful thriller will appreciate Edwardson’s masterful novel.” —I Love A Mystery


Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

main characters Erik Winter
Male
Age: 41
Father
Wears sharp suits; cooks gourmet meals; enjoys jazz; recently became a father; reopens a rape/murder case he could not solve from five years ago to find clues to two recent rape/murder cases.
Detective chief inspector



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS