bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: once bitten, twice shy : a jaz parks novel /
Subscribe via RSS 
Once bitten, twice shy : a Jaz Parks novel
Jennifer Rardin
Adult Fiction RARDIN

Comments  Summary  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

Rardin fuses spy girl with vampire slayer in this entertaining but derivative debut. Jasmine "Jaz" Parks, a martial artist turned vampire-hunting government agent, is assigned to protect top-notch operative Vayl, a 300-year-old vampire on the side of the good guys. As Vayl helps Jaz to hone her supernatural abilities and she tries to keep from falling for his Romanian charm, they track down a dirty senator in cahoots with Mohammed Khad Abn-Assan, a terrorist who's making plans for a "Red Plague" spread through vampire-to-human contact. Rardin delivers all the paranormal touches that fans of Hamilton, Harris and Whedon enjoy, and Jaz's jittery narration amuses, but the fang-filled plot, replete with action licks and paranormal theatrics, will have trouble standing out in this overcrowded field. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

Moody, sharp-tongued Jasmine Parks, aka Jaz, works for the CIA. In her earlier career, she assassinated vampires, but now she partners with one, the almost 300-year-old Vayl. He is one of the good undead guys who works with humans to help rid the world of the evil of his kind. In this first adventure of a new paranormal series, Vayl requests that Jaz be his partner because he knows that her special gifts as a sensitive could be made even more powerful with his help. Their current adventure begins in Miami, where they have been sent to infiltrate the world of the extremely wealthy Abn-Assan, suspected of filtering money to a terrorist organization. Complicating matters are a near-fatal attack on Vayl, in which his only blood supply is contaminated. To save him, Jaz insists he take some of her blood. When he acquiesces, their personal bond and paranormal powers increase. Rardin's lively, fast-paced urban fantasy debut features a host of characters and a plethora of plot twists. Fans of Charlaine Harris, Laurell K. Hamilton, Kim Harrison, and other urban fantasists will bite. Recommended for popular reading collections. [The second title in the series, Another One Bites the Dust, will make its debut in December.-Ed.]-Patricia Altner, BiblioInfo.com, Columbia, MD (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

main characters Jaz Parks
Female
Twin
CIA operative

Vayl
Male
Vampire
Born in Romania in 1744; killed by his vampire wife.
CIA operative



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS