bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: bozo sapiens : why to err is human /
Subscribe via RSS 
Bozo sapiens : why to err is human
Kaplan, Michael
Adult Nonfiction BF323.E7 K37 2009

Comments  Summary  Author Notes

Summary: A dazzling new work of popular science and psychology for readers who enjoyed Blink, Stumbling on Happiness, or The Black Swan. The New York Times called the Kaplans' look at probability in everyday life, Chances Are... , "a dizzying, exhilarating ride." Now they take readers on a new fun-house tour--exploring the burgeoning science of why humans make mistakes. Our species, it appears, is hardwired to get things wrong in myriad different ways. Why did recipients of a loan offer accept a higher rate of interest when a pretty woman's face was printed on the flyer? Why did one poll on immigration find the most despised aliens were ones from a group that did not exist? What made four of the air force's best pilots fly their planes, in formation, straight into the ground? Why does giving someone power make him more likely to chew with his mouth open and pick his nose? And why is your sister going out with that biker dude? In fact, our cognitive, logical, and romantic failures may be a fair price for our extraordinary success as a species--they are the necessary cost of our adaptability. Michael and Ellen Kaplan swoop effortlessly across neurochemistry, behavioral economics, and evolutionary biology, among other disciplines, to answer, with both clarity and wit, the questions above--and larger ones about what it means to be human.


Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS