bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: the desert spear /
Subscribe via RSS 
The desert spear
Peter V. Brett
Adult Fiction BRETT

Comments  Summary  Excerpt  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

In keeping with the recent trend of starting in the thick of the action, this sequel to 2009's The Warded Man picks up in the heat of Jardir's conquest of the greenlands. This choice may pull in new readers but risks alienating returning ones, since series hero Arlen Bales doesn't even appear until midbook. Jardir, who seemed to mostly be a villain in the first book, is made more sympathetic through a flashback to his childhood warrior training and the machinations of his psychically gifted chief wife, Inevera, who seems part Bene Gesserit and part Lady Macbeth as she plots his rise to power. Romantic entanglements occupy much of the book and lead to an abrupt conclusion that would benefit from a gentler epilogue, but is sure to leave fans on tenterhooks waiting for the last installment. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

From the people of the desert, a warrior has arisen to deliver them from the demons that rule the night and bring terror and destruction to the land. Ahmann Jardir bears the ancient spear and crown that seem to mark him as the Deliverer, but a rival-once a friend-known as the Warded Man challenges his claim. Now a new kind of demon has arisen, and the world's fate depends on a small group of brave souls who must rely on their combined strength to save their people. VERDICT The sequel to Brett's acclaimed debut, The Warded Man, extends the author's panoramic vision of a world steeped in the traditions of the desert and rich in magic both good and evil. Fans of epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan and George R.R. Martin will enjoy the arrival of a strong voice in multivolume epic fantasy. [Also available as an ebook: ISBN 978-0-345-51963-4; The Warded Man has been optioned by director Paul W.S. Anderson (Resident Evil).-Ed.] (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

main characters Arlen
Male
Discovered the lost combat wards necessary to fight the demons; betrayed by a friend; hunts down demons.
Demon hunter

Leesha
Female
Herbalist

Rojer
Male
Plays the fiddle; can charm and incite fear into demons.
Musician

Renna Turner
Female
Abused by her father and sentenced to death by her fellow villagers after killing her father; left her village; demon magic becomes painted on her skin causing her to become aggressive and cruel; travels with Arlen.
Demon hunter



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS