bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: pray for silence [sound recording] : [a thriller] /
Subscribe via RSS 
Pray for silence [sound recording] : [a thriller]
Linda Castillo
Adult Fiction CASTILL

Comments  Summary  Excerpt  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

The horrific murder of an Amish family rocks the small town of Painters Mill, Ohio, in Castillo's second thriller featuring Chief of Police Kate Burkholder. A lapsed member of the community herself, Burkholder confronts the life she abandoned many years ago-and its very dark secrets. Castillo builds a fascinating story that delves into a little known universe and populates it with authentic situations and characters. Kathleen McInerney does an excellent job of portraying this diverse cast, especially the Amish, who she instills with a shy, quiet dignity, and she handles the Pennsylvania Dutch language with the ease of a native. Although the brutality in the story can be quite disturbing in places, McInerney's grounded reading keeps it from feeling gratuitous. A compelling listen, well-written and expertly narrated. A Minotaur hardcover (Reviews, Apr. 12). (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

From Library Journal:

In her second mystery (after Sworn to Silence), Castillo brings back Police Chief Kate Burkholder in the town of Painters Mill, OH. Barely recovered from the serial killings of the previous year, the town and its small police department are once again rocked by the unthinkable. Someone has killed an entire Amish family of seven. Horrible as the crime is, what scares Kate is the lack of motive. With the help of her small but capable team and her on again/off again love interest, John Tomasetti, Kate works by trial and error until she finds a key piece of evidence that opens new possibilities. Verdict Though the violence level is high, the brutality is offset by Kate's and her team's very capable police procedure and investigation. Another solid effort that will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Tami Hoag. [See Prepub Mystery, LJ 2/1/09; library marketing; 150,000-copy first printing.]-Jane Jorgenson, Madison P.L, WI (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

main characters Kate Burkholder
Female
Survived a series of brutal killings in her childhood Amish community sixteen years ago; was raped by an Amish man; left the Amish; returned to the community to investigate the murder of an Amish family whose teenage daughter had become infatuated with the "English" world; had a brief affair with John.
Chief of police

John Tomasetti
Male
Widower
Had a brief affair with Kate; still grieving over the murder of his wife and two daughters; suspended from the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and Identification for failing a drug test.
Agent



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS