bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: book lust to go : recommended reading for travelers, vagabonds, and dreamers /
Subscribe via RSS 
Book lust to go : recommended reading for travelers, vagabonds, and dreamers
Nancy Pearl
Adult Nonfiction Z6004.T6 P39 2010

Comments  Summary  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

With the holidays just around the corner, Nancy Pearl's little gem will please many a traveler (or dreamer) who loves to read about faraway places but doesn't know where to start. With fanciful alliteration, Pearl lists titles under topics arranged from "A is for Adventure" to "Zipping through Zimbabwe." Recommendations are accompanied by brief critiques and insights. In an entry for "Las Vegas," for example, Pearl recommends Chris Ewan's novel, The Good Thief's Guide to Vegas, for fans of Hiaassen and Westlake, capers that use various cities of the world for their settings. Pearl classifies her recommendations well enough so that readers can take or leave her advice. In "Africa," for instance, she includes the classic Cry the Beloved Country as well as contemporary mysteries such as Wife of the Gods. It might have been easy to stick with the country structure for a book like this, but Pearl mixed it up, to good effect, with chapters like "So We/I Bought (or Built) A House In." which includes books about homes in Morocco, Mexico, France, Brazil, and Ireland. Pearl has produced a winner and the perfect bedside companion. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

From Library Journal:

Many readers see armchair travel as an opportunity to, as Pearl (Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason) writes, "get a feel for the soul of a country." Her preference for romantic travel is apparent as she frequently cites works about exotic places written from an outsider's perspective rather than that of a local. Readers expecting completely realistic portrayals may not appreciate Pearl's emphasis on mysteries, and the frequent mixing of best sellers and literary works may be annoying to some. She includes geographical information about the regions she covers. The book is organized alphabetically, but the name of a country or city doesn't necessarily fall at the beginning of the section name-for example, Paris is found under W ("We'll Always Have Paris") rather than P. Verdict This is recommended for voracious armchair travelers and librarians looking for a quick readers' advisory tool for patrons who value setting and frame.-Victor Or, Surrey P.L. & North Vancouver City Lib., BC (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS