bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: the siren /
Subscribe via RSS 
The siren
Alison Bruce
Adult Fiction BRUCE

Comments  Summary  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

Cambridge Det. Constable Gary Goodhew runs into a crisis while off-duty in Bruce's solid sequel to 2009's Cambridge Blue. In the midst of a pub crawl with a mate, Goodhew smells fire and rushes to the scene, only to find the flames too intense to allow him to enter the burning house where Kimberly Guyver's two-year-old son, Riley, is believed trapped, along with Rachel Golinski, the friend the boy's mother left in charge of him. While the authorities soon discover Golinski's corpse among the building's charred wreckage, Bruce lets the reader know that Riley is being held captive. The plot has the requisite twists and stock situations, notably a dark secret Guyver and Golinski share that's somehow connected to the disappearance of a man whose corpse turns up in Spain at the book's outset, but Bruce's superior prose elevates this above many other contemporary British police procedurals. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

The discovery of the body of a missing man in Spain sets in motion events leading to the fiery death of a woman and the disappearance of a two-year-old boy in Cambridge, England. While on an off-duty pub crawl with a friend, DC Gary Goodhew (Cambridge Blue) comes across a burning house where Kimberly Guyver's son, Riley, is believed trapped along with Rachel Golinski, the friend left in charge of the boy. Golinski's corpse is found in the charred ruins, Riley is missing, and Kimberly is uncooperative. VERDICT In this complex and convoluted tale of jealousy and violence, Goodhew still goes his own way and slowly puts the pieces of the puzzle together, resulting in an unexpected conclusion. Fans of Mo Hayder and John Harvey will be pleased to discover a new author. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines


more titles about

main characters Gary Goodhew
Male
Age: 25
Youngest detective at Cambridge's Parkside Station; doesn't follow protocol; tried to save a woman in a fire; searching for a two-year-old boy who has been kidnapped.
Detective constable



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS