bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: down the darkest road [sound recording] /
Subscribe via RSS 
Down the darkest road [sound recording]
Hoag, Tami
Adult Fiction HOAG

Comments  Summary  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

Bestseller Hoag's so-so third thriller set in the small California community of Oak Knoll (after 2010's Secrets to the Grave) focuses on 42-year-old Lauren Lawton, who arrives in Oak Knoll in 1990 with her nearly 16-year-old daughter, Leah. Four years earlier, Lauren's other daughter, Leslie, disappeared at age 16 in Santa Barbara, where the police never managed to find a shred of tangible evidence against the obvious suspect in the abduction, creepy photographer Roland Ballencoa. The trauma of Leslie's unknown fate and her father's subsequent suicide left Lauren emotionally shattered and barely able to function. But Oak Knoll proves no refuge. Within months, she's horrified to spot Ballencoa in town. Despite Lauren's best efforts to shield Leah from further terror, history repeats itself. The major plot twist won't surprise many readers, and neither the characters nor the cliche-hobbled story line are among Hoag's best work. Author tour. Agent: Andrea Cirillo. (Dec.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

From Library Journal:

Hoag's third series entry (after Deeper Than the Dead and Secrets to the Grave) returns to the small California town of Oak Knoll. With her daughter Leah, Lauren Lawton has retreated there to escape the pain and heartbreak of her eldest daughter's abduction four years earlier and the subsequent death of her husband. But peace is far from Lauren's grasp as she spots the suspected abductor, Roland Ballencoa, in town. So begins a terrifying turn of events. Series characters Det. Tony Mendez and retired FBI profiler Vince Leone and his wife, Anne, enter the picture as Lauren seeks to discover her missing daughter's fate. Her obsession develops into near vigilantism and the reckless stalking of Ballencoa. Verdict Fans of Lisa Gardner and Iris Johansen will be glued to their seats by Hoag's chilling cliffhanger scenes and psychological puzzles. This taut novel of suspense is a true nail-biter.-Susan Carr, Edwardsville P.L., IL (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS