bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: velva jean learns to fly [sound recording] : [a novel] /
Subscribe via RSS 
Velva Jean learns to fly [sound recording] : [a novel]
Niven, Jennifer.
Adult Fiction NIVEN

Comments  Summary  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

Niven delivers another tale full of hope, heartbreak, and nostalgia in this sequel to Velva Jean Learns to Drive. Now in her twenties, at the dawn of World War II, heroine Velva Jean Hart leaves her husband and the comfort of her hometown in North Carolina to pursue her life-long dream of singing at the Grand Ole Opry. Once she arrives, she quickly learns that breaking into the music business is breaking her heart, but that doesn't stop our mind-bogglingly positive ingenue from sticking it out and singing the blues every chance she gets. Velva Jean's aspirations soon take a dramatic turn when her brother Johnny Clay introduces her to flying planes. Consumed with becoming a heroic female aviator, Velva Jean joins the WAFS, the Women's Auxiliary Ferrying Squadron, part of the Army Air Forces, and experiences a wartime life filled with love, despair, and life-threatening adventures. A tasteful blend of comedy, inspiration, and endurance. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

From Library Journal:

Fans of Velva Jean Learns To Drive, Niven's fictional debut, will welcome back the high-octane Velva Jean as she flees from her husband and North Carolina mountain home for Nashville. Hell-bent on recording her mountain ballads, Velva Jean gradually becomes disheartened as she struggles to break into the music business. Soon Pearl Harbor is attacked, and her brother Johnny Clay informs Velva Jean that he is joining the army. Before Johnny Clay leaves, he persuades Velva Jean to take flying lessons. The apprehensive Velva Jean is elated as she learns to pilot a plane. With the war interrupting her musical ambitions, she enlists as a female pilot trainee in Texas and launches a new career. On base, her tattered musical soul is revived when she reconnects with blues singer Butch Dawkins. Never believing in failure, Velva Jean surmounts dangerous obstacles facing female pilots in that male-dominated era, with her moxie eventually ruling the day. Verdict Readers who enjoy Fannie Flagg and other down-home Southern writers will be entertained by this saucy adventure sprinkled with a gamut of human emotions.-Mary Ellen Elsbernd, Ft. Mitchell, KY (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS