bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: the queen of attolia /
Subscribe via RSS 
The Queen of Attolia
Megan Whalen Turner
Teen Fiction TURNER

Comments  Summary  Excerpt  Reviews

From Publishers' Weekly:

This spellbinder of a sequel to the Newbery Honor-winning The Thief is every bit as devilishly well plotted and grandly conceived. As it opens, Eugenides the thief has fallen into the clutches of the queen of Attolia, who still seethes from his besting of her (relayed in The Thief). Unwilling to execute him, lest she start a war with the queen of Eddis (Eugenides's cousin and ruler), she orders his hand cut off. The drama is high, and the action grows only more engrossing. As Eugenides tries to reconcile himself to the amputation, war breaks out, involving Attolia, Eddis and Sounis, tiny countries modeled on ancient Greece and other Mediterranean nations. For the most part, Turner eschews battle scenes, although she executes these with flair. Instead, she emphasizes strategy, with brilliant, ever-deceptive Eugenides a match for Odysseus in his wiliness and daring, perpetually catching readers by surprise. When, fairly late in the novel, Eugenides decides that he must wed the fearsome queen of Attolia in order to achieve a more lasting peace--and that he loves her--it requires a certain leap of faith to accept that his terror of her coexists with desire. But Turner's storytelling is so sure that readers will want to go along with her--and discover whatever it is that Eugenides will do next. Ages 10-up. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

Eugenides ("Gen") is a royal thief in the service of his cousin, the Queen of Eddis. Since his youth, he has felt something close to obsession for the powerful queen of the neighboring kingdom, Attolia. This sequel to the Newbery Honor book The Thief (1997) takes the story of the kingdoms of Eddis, Sounis, and Attolia in an unexpected direction. In the opening scene, the Queen of Attolia exacts a high price from Gen, whom she has caught sneaking around her palace. She has her royal guard cut off his hand. Admittedly, the title of the third book in the series, The King of Attolia (ISBN 978-0-06-083577-4. 2006), offers a clue to this story's conclusion. For fans of Mr. & Mrs. Smith (starring Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie, 2005). Why It Is for Us: These political rivals are strong on the outside and damaged within. Gen's continued pursuit of a woman who would punish him in such a way is more than a little twisted. Is he after her heart or her throne? Does it matter so long as we get to watch? [The hardcover was published in 2000.] (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

main characters Eugenides
Male
Nickname is Gen; caught between two rival queens; loyal to his cousin Eddis as the Queen's thief, but finds himself in love with Attolia; who orders his right hand to be cut offl determined to bring the two queens together against a mutual enemy.
Thief

Eddis
Female
Queen
Eugenides's cousin; controls the bridge between Sounis and Attolia.

Attolia
Female
Queen
Angry at Eugenides for spying on her; orders his right hand to be cut off; strong-willled; self-sufficient; wants to restore her reputation that Eugenides destroyed.



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS