bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: the bomber /
Subscribe via RSS 
The bomber
Liza Marklund
Adult Fiction MARKLUN

Comments  Summary  Excerpt  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

The problem with a lot of thrillers is that the main characters seem to exist in a world in which thriller novels don't exist, so suspicious actions that send off loud alarm bells in the average reader's mind are invariably rationalized or ignored by the protagonists. So it is in this by-the-numbers tale, in which Annika Bengtzon, crime editor for the Stockholm tabloid Kv„llspressen, investigates the bombing of the Olympic venue at Victoria Stadium, where the body of Christina Furhage, head of the committee organizing the Stockholm Games, has been literally blown to bits. Balancing the demands of her family and those of her job, pumping her police contact for information and trying to decide how much of it to publish while barely holding her own in the petty squabbles that flare up daily in the newsroom, Annika digs into Christina's past to find death threats, a hidden marriage and the underhanded way in which she got her job. And when a second bomb goes off, you can bet that Annika will be targeted by the killer, whom readers will have no problem recognizing. The translation by Kajsa von Hofsten is smooth and precise, and while there's an interesting examination of what women like Christina and Annika go through in a world run by men, it's undercut by backlash if the female characters aren't neglecting their families or snapping at their children, they're insane. And while Marklund draws an accurate picture of the pressures and responsibilities of a reporter's job and life, except for the Stockholm setting and a series of unattributed first-person essays whose provenance is deliberately misleading, there's little that makes this Swedish bestseller special. (May) Forecast: This international hot property is already a bestseller in Denmark, Finland and Norway, and will soon appear in Estonia, France, Germany, Iceland, Japan and Spain; international film rights have been optioned by Sweetwater. But despite European raves, the title may get lost in the shuffle on this side of the Atlantic. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

A bomb explodes in the recently constructed Olympic village in Stockholm just months before the Summer Games are set to begin. Annika Bengtzon, recently promoted to crime editor for Kvallspressen, isn't convinced that this is a terrorist act. Her sources indicate that the bombing, which caused the death of an unidentified woman, is more likely the work of one individual. Like many intrepid reporters before her, Annika shrugs aside carping from her underlings and complaints from her husband to pursue the story. The author's background as a journalist is evident in Annika's fascinating search, which is artfully interspersed with chapters that delve into the mind of a mysterious other. The Bomber is touted as having been on the best seller list for a year in Sweden. Whether the novel will be a hit with American readers remains to be seen, though it will definitely appeal to fans of Patricia Cornwell and Jan Burke. Recommended for all public libraries. Jane Jorgenson, Madison P.L., WI (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

main characters Annika Bengtzon
Female
Married
Aggressive; newspaper reporter.
Reporter



recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS