bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: positively fifth street : murderers, cheetahs, and binion's world series of poke
Subscribe via RSS 
Positively fifth street : murderers, cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poke
McManus, James.
Adult Nonfiction GV1254 .M37 2003

Comments  Summary  Contents  Excerpt  Reviews  Author Notes

Summary: Rough sex, black magic, murder, and the science - and eros - of gambling meet in the ultimate book about Las Vegas James McManus was sent to Las Vegas by Harper 's to cover the World Series of Poker in 2000, especially the mushrooming progress of women in the $23 million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament's prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend with a technique so outre it took a Manhattan pathologist to identify it. Whether a jury would convict the attractive young couple was another story altogether. McManus risks his entire Harper 's advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. Only with actual table experience, he tells his skeptical wife, can he capture the hair-raising brand of poker that determines the world champion. The heart of the book is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament itself - the players, the hand-to-hand combat, and his own unlikely progress in it. Written in the tradition of The Gambler and The Biggest Game in Town, Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure, a penetrating study of America's card game, and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man's effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called "Pleistocene exigencies" - the eros and logistics of our primary competitive instincts.


Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS