bookspacePhoto of readermy book lists
 home > bookspace > winter jackets 2013

Winter Jackets 2013
Brookdale library has a lot of book lovers on staff. Follow us through February to see what we're reading for Winter Jackets 2013!   Print this list Print this list
 E-mail this list

Contributed by Brookdale Library Staff     |    Comment on this list     |     2742 views

Cover Art: Stay with me : a novel /
Stay with me : a novel
Barron, Sandra Rodriguez.
Five unidentified toddlers are found on an abandoned boat in a marina near Mayagüez Puerto Rico. Curiously they are well-dressed but barefoot. When no parents are found, the children are adopted by families of different backgrounds, but keep contact as brothers and sisters through the years. An emergency involving one of the group causes the group to gather to seek out deeper answers about their mysterious origins and the individual challenges growing up "unknown". This is a great story about the importance of identity and family bonds. Rachel
Adult Fiction BARRON
Discuss this title with other readersComment (1 comment)
 
Cover Art: The weird sisters /
The weird sisters
Brown, Eleanor, 1973-
If you have studied Shakespeare you might enjoy this story about 3 adult sisters who come home to help with their sick mother. Their father, a college prof, had schooled them in Shakespeare's plays their whole lives. Phrases from the plays are in all their conversations which is "weird"! The relationship between the sisters has been strained for years, but they try to come together for their parents sake. Julie
Adult Fiction BROWN
Discuss this title with other readersComment (3 comments)
 
Cover Art: Cocktail hour under the tree of forgetfulness /
Cocktail hour under the tree of forgetfulness
Fuller, Alexandra, 1969-
Why in the world would a young British couple want to raise a family in 1970s Rhodesia (Zimbabwe)? Even a brutal civil war didn't deter them. This incredibly honest memoir chronicles the fall of colonial privilege, although the Fullers fight to the end. Their determination not to leave Africa means teaching their daughters to carry Uzis while struggling to make a successful farm. Perhaps most incredible is how the author depicts her parents, warts and all - and what a lot of warts!! With clear-eyed detachment it is Beautifully written. Good for fans of Out of Africa and the Poisonwood Bible. Ginger
Adult Nonfiction Book DT2984.F85 F85 2011
Discuss this title with other readersComment (0 comments)
 
Cover Art: Evenings at five /
Evenings at five
Godwin, Gail.
Fictionalized telling of the relationship between Godwin and composer Robert Starer, looking back over the small shared moments in their lives, particularly centering on their daily cocktail hour where they would discuss their work in the arts. Godwin also shows her attempt to begin life again after Starer death. Rachel
Adult Fiction GODWIN
Discuss this title with other readersComment (3 comments)
 
Cover Art: The lock artist /
The lock artist
Hamilton, Steve, 1961-
The main character, Mike, is rendered mute by an unknown & unremembered trauma that happened when he was 8. In his late teens, he falls in love with a girl whose father exploits Mike for his lock-picking talents. Mike, preferring to pursue art, feels he has no choice but to re-enter the criminal world by following his girlfriend's father's orders. This novel moves back and forth in time as we get to know Mike both as a child and in the present. He is such a sympathetic character it is easy to root for him to be able to overcome the mysterious trauma. This psychological thriller is well-written and gripping; I've never read anything like it. Ginger
Adult Fiction HAMILTO
Discuss this title with other readersComment (1 comment)
 
Cover Art: Mrs. Kennedy and me /
Mrs. Kennedy and me
Hill, Clint
interesting book about Jackie Kennedy's life in the White House and the Secret Service agents who working in the White House during the Kennedy years. Jill
Adult Nonfiction Book 973.92209 H 2012
Discuss this title with other readersComment (2 comments)
 
Cover Art: A countess below stairs /
A countess below stairs
Ibbotson, Eva.
Young Downton Abbey fans will find plenty to enjoy in this story. Upstairs/Downstairs intrigue and romance abound. The ending, thought not surprising, is satisfying. Also a good choice for fans of Pride and Prejudice. Bethany
Teen Fiction IBBOTSO
Discuss this title with other readersComment (5 comments)
 
Cover Art: The night following /
The night following
Joss, Morag
A woman responsible for accidentally killing the wife of another man moves slowly from being concerned for his well being from a distance, into becoming enmeshed in bizarre relationship. A compelling psychological drama. Rachel
Adult Fiction JOSS
Discuss this title with other readersComment (2 comments)
 
Cover Art: Tigers in red weather : a novel /
Tigers in red weather : a novel
Klaussmann, Liza
Nick and Helena are cousins who grew up spending their summers together at the families' lakeside estate. Although they are different in almost every way, dark and fair, rich and poor, seductive and naive, they are very close. Their lives cross, collide and intersect over the years as they start families of their own. With tight plotting, memorable characters,a unique narrative structure and compelling story, this literary thriller keeps readers guessing until the very end. Bethany
Adult Fiction KLAUSSM
Discuss this title with other readersComment (1 comment)
 
Cover Art: The shape of time; remarks on the history of things.
The shape of time; remarks on the history of things.
Kubler, George
This dense little book draws on art history and anthropology to paint a picture of the evolution of things but ultimately transcends that project. In the end the book is more about the communication and repetition of physical things as the embodiment of ideas, and objects of art as vessels for concepts, communicated and mutated through time. In the course of about 119 pages this takes the reader through Hubler's insights into humanity, a journey that's not only fascinating but fun. Ted
Adult Nonfiction Book N66.K8
Discuss this title with other readersComment (1 comment)
 
Cover Art: My first years in the fur trade : the journals of 1802-1804 /
My first years in the fur trade : the journals of 1802-1804
Nelson, George, 1786-1859.
The journal of a 15 year old boy who was hired by a fur trading company and sent to the interior. Interesting reading the observations from such a young person alone without family in the wilderness. Jeff
Adult Nonfiction Book 977.503 N
Discuss this title with other readersComment (1 comment)
 
Cover Art: Bound for the Barrens: journal of the Ernest Oberholtzer and Billy Magee 2,000-m
Bound for the Barrens: journal of the Ernest Oberholtzer and Billy Magee 2,000-m
Oberholtzer, Ernest C. 1884-1977
An amazing canoe trip into unchartered area without maps or guides of the region by the environmentalist responsible for the protection of the BWCA region. Jeff
Adult Nonfiction Book 917.1271 O 2012
Discuss this title with other readersComment (1 comment)
 
Cover Art: The healing /
The healing
Odell, Jonathan, 1951-
Great story that taught me something about life as a slave on a southern plantation. This story was about a young girl and her apprenticeship with a healer, who used plants and wisdom passed down from her ancestors. An amazing story of the strength of family bonds that supersedes the hardships of life. Julie
Adult Fiction ODELL
Discuss this title with other readersComment (3 comments)
 
Cover Art: Wonder /
Wonder
Palacio, R. J.
Home schooled Augie reluctantly goes into 5th grade at Beecher Prep. He and his classmates, initially frightened and repulsed by his horrible facial deformity, have a memorable year, described by several characters. Readers will experience a gamut of emotions, tears to laughter to admiration to empathy. You’ll never avoid looking directly at anyone again. A 2013 ALSC Notable book. Gretchen
Children's Fiction
Discuss this title with other readersComment (12 comments)
 
Cover Art: A child called
A child called
Pelzer, David J.
This teaches a good lesson to school aged kids on: people are not always as they appear to be. Give everyone a chance to become your friend. They may need one. Do not judge on appearances. Denise
Adult Nonfiction Book HV883.C2 P45 1995
Discuss this title with other readersComment (38 comments)
 
Cover Art: The end of your life book club /
The end of your life book club
Schwalbe, Will.
A son looks back to when his mother was diagnosed with and treated for pancreatic cancer. During the course of her treatments they find comfort and commonality in books, the ones they both loved, the ones they disagreed over and what the books taught them about life. His mother, Mary Anne Schwalbe was a fascinating woman who grew up privileged but early on developed a deep concern for the welfare of the rest of the world and worked in refugee camps in some of the poorest, most violent ridden places in the world. The founding director of the women’s refugee commission and once a director of admissions for Harvard and Radcliffe, she grew up in and raised her children in New England and New York in a world of books, the ballet, museums and travel (including travel to refugee camps). A touching, lively story of a mother and son relationship, and a fascinating life that remained so even after being confronted by cancer. Rachel
Adult Nonfiction Book 616.994 S 2012
Discuss this title with other readersComment (3 comments)
 
Cover Art: The dark side of genius : the life of Alfred Hitchcock by Donald Spoto.
The dark side of genius : the life of Alfred Hitchcock by Donald Spoto.
Spoto, Donald, 1941-
SPOILER ALERT!!! Don't waste your time and money on the forthcoming "Hitchcock" production. Instead, read Donald Spoto's "The Dark Side of Genius: the Life of Alfred Hitchcock". A master of biography, Mr. Spoto wrote a detailed but readable account of Hitchcock's life and work, not an easy task because his subject was intensely private and known to offer fanciful or varying biographical vignettes to the curious. Throughout the book the focus is on Mr. Hitchcock's oeuvre and the influences tht helped to shape "the Master of Suspense". Mary Kay
Adult Nonfiction Book PN1998.A3H565 1983
Discuss this title with other readersComment (1 comment)
 
Cover Art: 168 hours : you have more time than you think /
168 hours : you have more time than you think
Vanderkam, Laura.
This book will show you how to manage your time in order to focus on what you do best and what is most important to you. There really are enough hours in the week to accomplish everything. Jill
Adult Nonfiction Book 658.4093 V 2010
Discuss this title with other readersComment (1 comment)
 
Cover Art: Robert Schumann : life and death of a musician /
Robert Schumann : life and death of a musician
Worthen, John.
This biography draws extensively upon Robert Schumann's diaries, letters and notes. Because Schumann chronicled his thoughts and activities in great detail, the biography is almost a day by day account of his life. The author depicts Schumann's innate genius; his ambiguities; and his tragedies within the context of Central Europe in the mid-1800s and presents his subject to the reader as the inviolably free man that he was. Mary Kay
Adult Nonfiction Book ML410.S4 W67 2007
Discuss this title with other readersComment (1 comment)
 

Submission Guidelines
Add a Comment about this Book List:
Your name:
Comment:
To help reduce spam, please enter the characters in the image below:

   show new image
=
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS