home > events & classes > search results
   at Sumner Library

 

Adult Homework Help
Monday, July 28, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, July 31, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 1, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Aug. 4, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 7, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 8, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Aug. 11, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 14, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 15, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Aug. 18, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 21, 4–7:45 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 22, 10 a.m. – noon
Monday, Aug. 25, 4–7:45 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 28, 4–7:45 p.m.

Trained volunteer tutors will help adults with college homework assignments in any subject. Also open to adults working to improve their English, prepare for the GED, occupational, citizenship and driver’s exams. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend

Kids Jr. Book Club
Wednesdays, June 11–Aug. 27, 2:30–3:30 p.m.
Entering grades 2-3. Join other kids to talk about a great book! 
Sponsored by Friends of the Sumner Library.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Family Storytime
Wednesdays, June 4–Aug. 27, 10:30 a.m.
For children of all ages and their parent or caregiver. Talk, sing, read, write and play together in a format appropriate for young children. Share books, stories, rhymes, music and movement. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Kids Book Club
Thursdays, June 12–Aug. 21, 3–4 p.m.
Entering grades 4-6. Join other kids to talk about a great book! 
Sponsored by Friends of the Sumner Library.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Adult Reading Circle
Thursdays, June 5, June 12, June 19, June 26, July 10, July 17, July 24, July 31, Aug. 7, Aug. 14, Aug. 21 & Aug. 28, 4:00 –5 p.m.
Join adults who want to improve their reading skills. Have fun reading and sharing with others. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Writing Your Story
Thursday, July 31, 4:30–6 p.m. This session has been cancelled
Thursday, Aug. 7, 4:30–6 p.m. This session has been cancelled
Thursday, Aug. 14, 4:30–6 p.m. This session has been cancelled
Thursday, Aug. 21, 4:30–6 p.m. This session has been cancelled
Thursday, Aug. 28, 4:30–6 p.m. This session has been cancelled

Trained volunteers will support writers of all levels - ordinary people with tales to tell. Explore different ways to unleash your story. Bring your favorite pen and paper. You may start at any session. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Conversation Circles
Fridays, June 6, June 13, June 20, June 27, July 11, July 18, July 25, Aug. 1, Aug. 8, Aug. 15 & Aug. 22, 10:30 a.m. – noon p.m.
Non-native English speakers: practice your English and make new friends in an informal, volunteer-led setting, and learn about the library, too. Call 612-543-5669 for more information in English or, in Hmong, 612-543-8845; in Somali, 612-543-8756; in Spanish, 612-543-8510.  
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Childcare Group Storytime
Fridays, June 6, June 13, June 20, June 27, July 11, July 18, July 25, Aug. 1, Aug. 8, Aug. 15, Aug. 22 & Aug. 29, 10:30 a.m.
Talk, sing, read, write and play together in a format appropriate for the children in your care. Share books, stories, rhymes, music and movement. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Global Folk: Carnival!
Saturday, Aug. 9, 2–3 p.m.
Register Online or call 612-543-6875.
All ages. Local group Tres Mundos will get you moving with Cuban rumba, Latin jazz and more. 
This project is funded with money from Minnesota's Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Paws to Read With an Animal
Thursday, Aug. 14, 5:30–7 p.m.
For families. Volunteers will help put young readers at ease so they can cuddle up with a certified therapy animal and practice reading aloud. Most libraries host dogs and you can call ahead to see if other animals will be visiting. 
Presented in collaboration with North Star Therapy Animals.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Childcare Group Storytime
Wednesday, Sept. 3, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Sept. 5, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 10, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Sept. 12, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 17, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Sept. 19, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 24, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Sept. 26, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 1, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Oct. 3, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 8, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Oct. 10, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 15, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Oct. 17, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 22, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Oct. 24, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 29, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Oct. 31, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 5, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 7, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 12, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 14, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 19, 10:30–11 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 21, 10:30–11 a.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 26, 10:30–11 a.m.

Talk, sing, read, write and play together in a format appropriate for the children in your care. Share books, stories, rhymes, music and movement. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS