home > events & classes > search results
 

Events for Sep 28, 2014

Adult Homework Help
Minneapolis Central Library
4th Floor
Saturday, Sept. 27, 10:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 28, 1–3 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 4, 10:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 5, 1–3 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 11, 10:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 12, 1–3 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 18, 10:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 19, 1–3 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 25, 10:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 26, 1–3 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 1, 10:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 2, 1–3 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 8, 10:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 9, 1–3 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 15, 10:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 16, 1–3 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 22, 10:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 23, 1–3 p.m.

Trained volunteer tutors will help adults with college homework assignments in any subject. Also open to adults working to improve their English, prepare for the GED, occupational, citizenship and driver’s exams. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Work of Art: Marketing for Artists
Minneapolis Central Library
RKMC Meeting Room
Sunday, Sept. 28, 1–3:30 p.m.
Register Online or call 612-543-8000.
Identify the right audience for your artistic output. Develop marketing strategies and a marketing plan geared to your target audience. 
This project is funded with money from Minnesota's Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund.
Presented in collaboration with Springboard for the Arts.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Conversation Circles
Minneapolis Central Library
4th Floor
Tuesday, Sept. 23, 4–6 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 24, 4–6 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 25, 4–6 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 27, 1–3 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 28, 1–3 p.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 30, 4–6 p.m.

Non-native English speakers: practice your English and make new friends in an informal, volunteer-led setting, and learn about the library, too. Call 612-543-5669 for more information in English or, in Hmong, 612-543-8845; in Somali, 612-543-8756; in Spanish, 612-543-8510. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Author Talk: Meryll Levine Page and Leslie Levine Adler
St. Louis Park Library
Sunday, Sept. 28, 1 p.m.
Authors Page and Adler will discuss "Jewish Luck: A True Story of Friendship, Deception and Risky Business" which recounts the intertwined stories of two women who fight to establish themselves in a time and place where women, Jews and capitalism were disparaged in the “New” Russia who succeed by creating their own luck. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Hosmer World Film Series
Hosmer Library
Sundays, Sept. 21–Nov. 30, 1:30 p.m.
Get a glimpse of the diverse world we live in through this series of award-winning international films. Rare cinema at its finest! 
Sponsored by the Friends of the Hosmer Library and the Bryant Neighborhood Organization.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Conversation Circles
East Lake Library
Sundays, Sept. 7–Nov. 30, 1–3 p.m.
Non-native English speakers: practice your English and make new friends in an informal, volunteer-led setting, and learn about the library, too. Call 612-543-5669 for more information in English or, in Hmong, 612-543-8845; in Somali, 612-543-8756; in Spanish, 612-543-8510. 
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

STEM Exploration Day
Ridgedale Library
Sunday, Sept. 28, 2–4 p.m.
Register Online or call 612-543-8840.
Grade 1 and up with a caregiver. Learn together by creating a sound sandwich, experimenting with rainbow glasses and building a bridge. 
Presented in collaboration with The Works; Sponsored by the MELSA (Metropolitan Library Service Agency).
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

K-12 Homework Help
Brooklyn Park Library
Tuesday, Sept. 23, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 24, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 28, 3–5 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 29, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 30, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 1, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 5, 3–5 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 6, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 7, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 8, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 12, 3–5 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 13, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 14, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 20, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 21, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 22, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 26, 3–5 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 27, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 28, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 29, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 2, 3–5 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 3, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 4, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 5, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 9, 3–5 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 10, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 12, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 16, 3–5 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 17, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 18, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 19, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 23, 3–5 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 24, 4:30–7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 4:30–7:30 p.m.

Free in-person tutoring for K-12 students. No advance sign-up needed. 
Funded by the Friends of the Hennepin County Library.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me

Paws to Read With an Animal
Golden Valley Library
Sunday, Sept. 28, 12:30–2 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 2, 12:30–2 p.m.

For families. Volunteers will help put young readers at ease so they can cuddle up with a certified therapy animal and practice reading aloud. Most libraries host dogs and you can call ahead to see if other animals will be visiting. 
Presented in collaboration with North Star Therapy Animals.
Tell a Friend Tell a Friend   Remind Me Remind Me


hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS