|<< Return to list|
The Albert C. Loring Collection M/A 1994.32.01
|Creator:||Loring, Albert, 1858-1932|
|Title:||Albert C. Loring Collection|
|Repository:||James K. Hosmer Special Collections Library|
Albert C. Loring was President of the Pillsbury Flour Mills Company from 1908 until 1931. Born on August 31, 1858, he was the only son of Charles M. Loring a merchant and miller. Two years after his birth his parents moved to Minneapolis where he lived and received his early education. In addition, he married for the first time while living in Minneapolis. However, his wife Ida Eastman died sometime before the mid to late 1870âs.
In 1876 he traveled east across the U.S. and decided to attend a preparatory school in West Newton Massachusetts. In addition to studying there, he also met and married his second wife Adelaide Maria Ingalls. He returned to Minneapolis in 1877 to attend the University of Minnesota, and was one of the first students to receive an education there. Furthermore, he also received his first job in the milling industry during this period. He became the secretary-treasurer of the Minnetonka Milling company which his father owned.
This would begin his long career in the milling business. In addition to working for Minnetonka Milling, he also helped organize Galaxy Milling as well. Here too he held the position of secretary-treasurer, and later would become its president. In addition, he was involved in the day to day operations of the mills as well. He was instrumental in moving to more modern milling practices including the use of steel rollers, better strains of wheat, and the use of chemistry to improve flour quality.
In 1893 the mills that Loring worked at were combined into the Northwestern Consolidated Milling Company. At the time of its formation he was made Vice-President, and by 1900 he was made its president. Here he continued his tradition of fairness and quality, and worked to bring milling into the modern era.
In 1908 he received the Presidency of the Pillsbury, and set to work trying to improve their operations. He was very successful, and was responsible for implementing new quality standards as well as implementing many improvements. His work resulted in more than doubling the output of the mills under his control. Furthermore, he was able to negotiate the return of British owned properties in 1923. This brought the operation back under full domestic control for the first time since 1891.
In addition to his work as a miller Loring had other interests as well. He was a director of the Great Northern railway, and made frequent trips along the lines with the members of its board. Also he worked as a banker, and was a director of the First National Bank, the First Minneapolis Trust Company, and the First Bank Stock Corporation. He also kept a hobby farm where he raised cattle, and had one of the most advanced dairy operations in the country. Furthermore, he was also involved in the early business operations of the city of Minneapolis. He helped to form the Minneapolis chamber of commerce, as well as the first Minneapolis board of trade. Finally, he was instrumental to the creation of the Minneapolis park system, and Loring Park was named in his honor.
Loring died in 1932 after a three day battle with Pneumonia. He was survived by his third wife, Mary Shenehon, whom he married in 1925 as well as his children and grandchildren.
The Albert C. Loring Collection consists of one box of materials. This box contains newspaper clippings, two photographs, and a journal from Loring's time at prep school. It also includes some brief items about his third wife Mary Shenehon.
Agricultural machinery industry.
Agriculture -- Minnesota
Banks and banking -- Minnesota -- Minneapolis.
Parks -- Minnesota -- Minneapolis.
Minneapolis (Minn.) -- History.
Table of Contents
|Loring, Albert C.: Biographical --|
|Loring, Albert C.: Mary Shenehon Loring, Misc --|
|Journal of school year in West Newton, Mass. 1876-1877 --|
Please leave a message.
We try to respond within 24 hrs.
Plan your visit to Special Collections
10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Monday - Thursday &
First and Third Saturdays of the month
|Local Historical Societies|