 |
home > reference & research > business & investments
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
ReferenceUSA Directory of 14 million U.S. businesses. Also includes U.S. white page listings, new businesses, and Canadian businesses. Details
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues and from Hennepin County property taxes

Corporate Affiliations Business profiles and corporate linkage ("who owns whom") for approximately 184,000 public and private companies worldwide. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Value Line Comprehensive source of information and advice on 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Morningstar Investment Research Center Financial data on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs, and buy/sell guidance on more than 1,900 stocks and 2,100 mutual funds. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

D&B Million Dollar Directory Comprehensive marketing information on 14 million public and private U.S. and Canadian companies. Details
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.

Show all databases
|
|
AARP Financial Planning
Check here for news and developments that affect retirees and would-be retirees. Retirement and mortgage payoff calculators are featured.

American Business Leaders of the 20th Century
This database chronicles the lives of 20th century men and women whose business leadership shaped the ways that people live, work, and interact.

American Funds--Retirement and IRAs Financial Planning
Retirement planning calculator, information on IRAs and employer-sponsored retirement plans, and general saving-for-retirement advice from one of the largest mutual fund companies.

American Numismatic Association
Collectors of coins, currency, and gold can learn about workshops, conventions, dealers, and catalogs that will promote their hobby or investments.

American Philatelic Society
"Serving stamp collectors since 1886."

apartments.com
Use this site to find and rent an apartment, condo, townhouse or house that suits your lifestyle and your pocketbook.

Archive for the History of Economic Thought
This site presents in facsimile form the major works of renowned economists from the somewhat distant past. John Kenneth Galbraith and Milton Friedman, for example, are not included.

Ballpark E$timate
The Ballpark E$timate is an easy-to-use, two-page worksheet that helps you identify approximately how much you need to save to fund a comfortable retirement.

Bankrate.com
A great site for finding the best rates on certificates of deposit, credit cards, and consumer loans. Also, here you can learn how safe your bank is. Do you dare to look?

BigCharts
Stock quotes (1970 to current hour), interactive charting, and stock screeners for over 50,000 stocks, mutual funds, and market indexes. Historical stock price look-up back to 1970 is one of the most useful features

Bloomberg.com
An information service that provides business and financial professionals with the tools that they need to succeed.

Bureau of Engraving and Printing
Information on U.S. paper money from the folks who print it. And may I add Re: MONEYFACTORY that they may be printing a bit too much nowadays?

Business Ethics Magazine Online
This ejournal offers articles from the current print issue and links to other sites on business ethics.

Business Filings Database
Links to corporate and business filings from Secretary of State's offices for all fifty states.

Business for Social Responsibility
"A leader in corporate responsibility since 1992, Business for Social Responsibility (BSR) works with its global network of more than 250 member companies to develop sustainable business strategies and solutions."

Business Week's Top Business Schools
This site offers in-depth profiles of undergraduate business programs. Too many significant aspects to mention--you've got to see it to believe it.

CasePlace.org: The Interactive Resource for Business Schools
From the Aspen Institute's Business and Society Program, this site offers "hundreds of business case studies and supporting materials that incorporate Social Impact Management into business education."

Center for Economic Policy and Research
The research and public education conducted by the CEPR are intended to inform and assist the general public.

Center for Ethics and Business
An extensive list of nonprofit organizations, academic institutions, and other resources that promote business ethics.

Chambers of Commerce in Minnesota
Links to Chambers of Commerce in Minnesota.

Cityfeet.com
Search by geographical area for office, retail and industrial property for sale or lease.

CNN/Money
Latest news from the editors of CNN and Money magazine on the U.S. and world markets plus the day's top business stories.

Coldwell Banker Burnet Realty
Coldwell Banker Burnet is the leading full-service real estate company serving Minnesota and western Wisconsin.

Conference Board: Economic Indicators
Publishes the influential Consumer Confidence Index and the U.S. Leading Indicators as well as the CEO Confidence Survey, Help Wanted Online, and the Employment Trend Index.

Currencies Center from Yahoo!
You can't have too many currency converters. Here's Yahoo!'s version.

Dewey Research Advisor
Database of business and economics FAQ's such as how to research an industry or where to find the current discount rate. Developed for MIT business students

Directory of Minnesota Business and Professional Associations
Annual directory published by the James J. Hill Reference Library.

Dow Jones Indexes
Everything you ever wanted to know about the Dow Jones indexes--present and past.

Economic Policy Institute
"The Economic Policy Institute is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank that seeks to broaden the public debate about strategies to achieve a prosperous and fair economy."

Economics Departments, Institutes and Research Centers in the World
At this time 11,142 institutions in 299 countries have a presence on the World Wide Web. Also included are finance ministries, statistical offices, central banks, think tanks and other non-profit institutions where economists play a major role.

EDGAR
EDGAR is the Securities and Exchange Commission's database of online filings of corporate information.

Edina Realty
Edina Realty is one of the nation's largest real estate companies with more than 80 real estate offices throughout Minnesota, North Dakota and Wisconsin.

Executive Paywatch
Database lists compensation data for CEOs of some of the largest U.S. companies.

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Use searchable databases to find information on specific banks, their branches, and the industry.

Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)
Historical banking, monetary, and economic statistics from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Twenty years of The Economic Report of the President, an "Essential Title" in federal depository libraries, are available as well.

Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
The bank's analysis of regional economic data results in an amazing array of studies, including one on the availability of credit in the Hmong community, a series on early childhood education, and "The Mystery of Crime." So much is offered here that it has to been seen to be believed.

Federal Reserve Board of Governors
Look under "About the Fed" to find links to the homepages of the twelve federal reserve districts.

Finance and Commerce
Minnesota's only business daily since 1887.

Financial Calculators from MortgageLoan.com
Over 100 financial calculators to determine your retirement income, car loan payments, mortgage payoff, home budget analysis, estate taxes plus more.


Financial Industry Regulatory Authority
"Learn about investing and how to build your financial knowledge."

Forbes Lists
This is the portal to the many lists that are compiled by Forbes, including "rich lists," top salary earners, and best and largest companies.

FORTUNE 500
50 years of BIG business!

FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
The database includes over 3000 U.S. economic reports prepared by the St. Louis Federal Reserve Branch. The reports, called time series, track current and historical data on banking, consumer price indexes, interest rates, employment, population, exchange rates, and other business and monetary indicators in the U. S. The economic data published in FRED are widely reported in the media and play a key role in financial markets.

GMAT--The Graduate Management Admission Test
The GMAT is a standardized test that most graduate schools of business use in assessing potential students.

GreenBiz.com
News about the environmentally sound products, policies, and jobs that are coming from businesses in the U.S. and abroad.

Housing + Transportation Affordability Index
Measures the true affordability of housing by factoring in the transportation costs for a specific location within a city. 52 metropolitan areas are indexed including the Twin Cities.

How Can I Afford Retirement? Investor Education at Hennepin County Library
This is an amazing, free opportunity with lots of experts and careful planning and oversight by the Investors Protection Plus.

How Much Can You Safely Withdraw from Your Savings during Retirement?
The answer may surprise you.

HUD (Housing and Urban Development) in Minnesota
Free assistance in defaults, foreclosures, buying a house, credit issues, and reverse mortgages. Locate housing counseling agencies that have been approved by HUD.

Index to Minnesota Business Periodicals
Locate citations from the local business press. Useful for Minnesota company and industry research.

Investing in Bonds
The Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association presents everything that you want to know about investing in municipal, treasury and corporate bonds.

Investopedia
In-depth information on investing. Click on Tutorials for information geared to beginners, experienced investors or those preparing for retirement.

Investor Protection Trust
"Empowering Investors to Build and Safeguard Their Futures"

Judicial Watch
This private, non-partisan watchdog group "promotes integrity, transparency and accountability in government, politics and the law." Includes links to news reports about corporate corruption that involves government officials.

Kellysearch.com
This web-based version of Kelly's Industrial Directory allows free business-to business supplier searching.

Kompass
Search for products and services provided by companies from around the world. Please be forewarned that free-of-charge information is offered on a limited basis and that complete access to the data requires a subscription.

Looking for advice, assistance, or advocacy in buying or renting a home? Check out HCL's selected weblinks.
These sites are especially intended for low to moderate income households that may need an extra boost in acquiring that dream home.

LSS Financial Counseling Service
Lutheran Social Services provides debt, bankruptcy and mortgage counseling and financial literacy education.

Martindale's Calculators On-Line Center: Finance
Calculators, applets, spreadsheets and, where applicable, courses, manuals, handbooks, simulations, animations, videos, etc. You're on your own here.

Measuring Worth from Economic History Services
"Here you can ask questions of comparative value covering prices, purchasing power, earnings, GDP, interest rates, exchange rates and other economic variables. The calculators allow you to convert past values into current values (and vice versa)."

Measuring Worth: A Service for Measuring Relative Worth over Time
Determining the relative value of an amount of money in one year compared to another is more complicated than it seems at first. Here are some calculators to assist you in figuring it out.

Metro MSP
A listing of commercial rental space in the metro area searchable by property type and size.

Minneapolis Regional Chamber of Commerce
Locate a business by name or by activity in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal
Online version of the local weekly business magazine. Includes full-text archived stories back to 1996. The Business Journal's Book of Lists is not available online

Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
Statistical analyses and reports on Minnesota's economy. "Facts and Figure" and "Publications" links access quarterly updates tracking business expansions, reports on such industries as forest products and medical devices, unemployment, wages, and data on international trade. Helpful for discovering future business trends.

MissingMoney.com
Search by name for unclaimed property from bank accounts, safe deposit boxes, uncashed checks, stocks, CDs, escrow accounts, etc.

Motley Fool: To Educate, Amuse & Enrich
"The Motley Fool is a multimedia financial-services company dedicated to building the world's greatest investment community." Both novice and experienced investors will find this sometimes humorous site of interest

Mutual Fund Scoreboard
Interactive version of Business Week's mutual fund listings. Information regarding returns, ratings and other performance indicators is updated monthly.

MyMoney.gov
"MyMoney.gov is the U.S. government's website dedicated to teaching all Americans the basics about financial education"

National Foundation for Credit Counseling
Locate a financial counselor accredited by the NFCC by clicking on "Find a Counselor Now".

Negative Population Growth
"NPG, Inc. is unique among national organizations in calling for a turnaround in population growth and describing the means to achieve it."

New York Times-- The Business Section
Don't leave the house until you've read the business section of the New York Times.

Nolo's Bankruptcy Resource Center
Get help with deciding whether to file, navigating new and existing laws, and selecting an attorney.

OANDA--The Currency Site
Look for the currency converter under "FXConverter."

Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation
The Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation is a federal corporation that currently protects the pensions of nearly 44 million American workers and retirees in more than 29,000 private single-employer and multiemployer defined benefit pension plans.

Probate and Planning: A Guide
Information about wills, the probate process, living trusts, conservatorships, powers of attorney, health care directives and planning a funeral. Downloadable forms are available.

ProPublica: Journalism in the Public Interest
A great site for tracking the fate of the bailout and stimulus monies.

Reference for Business
Search or browse encyclopedias of small business, American industries, business biographies, or business plans.

REJournals.com
Variously known as the Minnesota Real Estate Journal and as Midwest Real Estate News, this site covers the real estate industry in the Upper Midwest and beyond.

RN Database
If you want to identify a product's manufacturer, look up its RN (Registered Number) in this database.

Ron Wise's World Paper Money Homepage
This site features more than 10,000 bank notes that have been scanned front and back.

Roth IRA Web Site
In-depth information on Roth IRA's geared for both consumers and practitioners. Among other features, the site includes a basic primer, news reports on the latest Roth developments, links to the IRS and legal regulations, and a calculator.

Securities Class Action Clearinghouse
The Securities Class Action Clearinghouse of Stanford University's Law School provides detailed information relating to the prosecution, defense, and settlement of federal class action securities fraud litigation.

Social Security Retirement Planner
Use this tool to help you understand your Social Security benefits. See the Social Security Administration's homepage for more information, including a link to the Retirement Estimator.

Star Tribune 100
"The Star Tribune 100 is a measure of the largest publicly held companies with headquarters in Minnesota ranked by revenue."

Star Tribune--The Business Section
Find out what's happening on the local business scene.

Stock and Commodity Exchanges
An award-winning website that lists the world's stock and commodity exchanges, including those dealing in futures, options, and derivatives, as well as sources for market and stock prices and reports.

Strategis: Canadian Company Directories
Detailed, searchable listings of Canadian businesses and associations.

Switchboard
Click on the "find businesses" icon and search the directory for listings of over 10 million companies in the United States. Limit your search by city or state.

The Star Tribune's rental classifieds
Find a rental property from hundreds of apartments, duplexes and houses in the metro area.

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Search for industrial products and services in 67,000 categories from more than 155,000 American manufacturers.

Toll-Free Directory
Search by company name for toll-free (800 or 877 or 888) numbers.

TreasuryDirect
Want to purchase government securities online or check the value of government securities that you already own? This site from the U.S. Department of the Treasury's Bureau of the Public Debt will give you the information that you need on savings bonds, t-bills, treasury notes and treasury bonds.

Trulia Real Estate Search
Trulia provides real estate information at the local level that helps home buyers make wise decisions as they search for and purchase a house.

Twin Cities Business
As "an ally of Minnesota business," Twin Cities Business promotes the development of successful entrepreneurial and corporate enterprises in Minnesota.

Twin Cities Business Fact Finder
Lists of top Minnesota companies, public and private, organized within industry categories.

U.S. Chamber of Commerce Directory
This is a chamber of commerce locator for cities in all of the fifty states.

U.S. News & World Report's Top Business Schools
Here the emphasis is on ranking graduate business programs. Little independent analysis of programs is offered.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
Locate company reports (via Edgar), SEC regulations, financial calculators, and check out brokers and advisers.

United States Mint
News and information about U.S. coins and about the agency that manufactures and distributes them.

United States Postal Service
Go to The Postal Store for information about first class stamps, stamp subscriptions, and commemorative panels.

Vanguard Retirement Center
"Vanguard has the information, tools, and assistance to help you meet your goals."

Wall Street Journal Online
The Wall Street Journal Online was launched in 1996. While much of the content is available only to subscribers, the leading news stories are accessible free of charge.

Wall Street Reporter
This site features smart trading ideas from top blogs plus interviews with the CEOs, CFOs, and presidents of publicly traded companies.

World of Bank Notes
Collect bank notes from around the world, and you will explore the globe without leaving your home.

Yahoo! Business News
Here's a good mix of national and international business news with plenty of great photos, graphics, and videos.

Yahoo! Finance
Get stock quotes here and historical prices for stocks that still are being traded.

Yahoo! Finance
Get current stock quotes here and historical prices for stocks that still are being traded. The free stock symbol lookup feature comes in handy.

Zicklin Center for Business Ethics Research
The mission of the Center is to sponsor and disseminate leading edge research on critical topics in business ethics.

Zillow.com
Zillow helps people make smarter real estate decisions by giving them access to the same kinds of information and tools that real estate agents have at their disposal.

|
|
Last updated: Oct. 21, 2009
This page maintained by
Mary K.
|
© Hennepin County Library
We welcome your comments and suggestions. |
|
|