home > reference & research > databases a - e

Search online magazines and newspaper articlesnew

Databases       A-E     F-M     N-Z
 
ABI/INFORM Complete
Offers company profiles including annual reports, journal and newspaper articles. Also includes industry and market research reports. Great resource for job interview preparation. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Academic Search Premier
Contains scholarly publications covering all academic disciplines. Includes indexing and abstracts and some full-text articles. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Access World News: Research Collection
Collection of news resources from across Minnesota, the U.S. and the world from newspapers, blogs, journals, magazines, news wires, transcripts, and web-only sources. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Adult Learning Center
Get live coaching for several tests, use the practice test center, prepare for the U.S. citizenship exam, get help using various Microsoft tools all with this JobNow resource from Brainfuse. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
ALLDATA Automotive Diagnostic and Repair Information
The world's most comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information. Available only on library workstations. Best viewed using Internet Explorer or Firefox. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Alt HealthWatch
Full-text articles from journals, reports, pamphlets, and original research. Contents cover complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Amazing Animals of the World
Information on animals from aardvarks to zebras, including color photos and games. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
America the Beautiful
Offers state history and current events. Includes images, maps, a timeline, quizzes and games. For elementary and middle school students. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
American Indian Experience
Offers articles as well as primary documents, including treaties, speeches, traditional tales, maps and photos. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740–1941
Digitized images of articles from 1740-1940 covering art, history, literature, politics, education and general news. Original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
American Song
Listen to and create playlists of music from a large historical collection of people, events and genres from America's past. Liner notes available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Ancestry Library Edition
An ever expanding collection of records, including U.S. Federal Census records, passenger lists, birth, death, marriage, and military records, family and local history collections, newspapers and directories. Also includes international records. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
ArchiveGrid
Online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Art Full Text
Features full-text articles, and indexing for peer-reviewed journals, dissertations, and art reproductions. Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Art Retrospective
Contents are for years1929-1984, an earlier period not covered by other versions of Art Index. Covers international English-language arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition & award notices, exhibition listings, book and film reviews. Some articles are peer-reviewed. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Associations Unlimited
Information provided on local, U.S., and worldwide, nonprofit membership organizations and professional societies. Contents include contact information, affiliations, and a brief history. Some entries include IRS information. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Locate biographical citations for more than 1,000 volumes and editions of current and retrospective biographical reference sources. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Biography In Context
Biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Searchable by birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. Results include images, audio, and articles from periodicals and reference books. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Birds of North America Online
Provides life histories of bird species breeding in USA (including Hawaii) and Canada. Recordings of songs and calls. Image and video galleries. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
BookFLIX
Classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods and nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Books in Print
Search the marketplace of in print, out of print, or forthcoming books, ebooks, audiobooks, and videos. Find reviews, tables of contents, full-text previews, cover images, author biographies, awards information, annotations, and publisher contact information. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Britannica for Kids
Encyclopedia articles, videos, websites and magazine articles. For elementary and middle school ages. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Britannica Reference Center
Accompanying the expansive encyclopedia articles are primary sources, news, websites, video, images, magazine articles, eBooks, and an interactive atlas. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Business Insights: Essentials
In-depth company information and extensive access to business magazines & industry surveys. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Business Source Premier
Full-text articles from scholarly business journals, dating as far back as 1922. For quick access to detailed company and industry profiles, country economic reports, and market research reports use the Enhanced Business Searching Interface. Great resource for job interview preparation. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
Includes photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video, and mixed media. Eras are prehistoric to contemporary. Museums are mostly U.S. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Find print and electronic publications from all branches of the U.S. Government. more info.
Funded by the United States Government Printing Office.
Classical Music Library
Listen to and create playlists of classical music performances, as well as folk, musicals, soundtracks, opera, and world music. Time periods range from medieval to 21st century. Liner notes available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Classical Scores Library
Printable scores from various composers, genres, and time periods. Allows users to listen to audio recordings in Classical Music Library while viewing the score. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
CollegeSource
Full-text of 2 and 4-year college catalogs, along with graduate and professional or trade schools. Entries include maps, college profiles, and websites. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Full-text of widely read poems, including commentaries and biographies. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Consumer Health Complete
Mainstream, complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Full-text reports and magazine articles. Content includes images, diagrams, videos, pamphlets, and narrated animations. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Consumer Reports
Browse and search the latest issues of Consumer Reports magazine. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Consumers' Checkbook
Consumer survey ratings of local services and stores. Includes articles with buying advice. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Contemporary Authors
Offers biographical and bibliographic information about U.S. and international authors. Search by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, and subject/genre. Content includes personal and career information, awards and honors, adaptations, and commentary. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Contemporary World Music
Listen to and create playlists of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from every continent. Liner notes available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Corporate Affiliations
Business profiles for major public and private companies worldwide. Search results include recent news, executives, shell companies, competitors, outside service firms, and financial information. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
CQ Researcher
Reports address the most current and controversial issues of the day with detailed discussions of the various sides of the issues, summaries, bibliographies, and links to related stories. Pro/Con section presents opposing sides of an issue. Content goes back to 1991. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
CQ Weekly
Thorough coverage of the week in Congress including bill status, vote reports, and updates on all committees. Content goes back to October 1983. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
CultureGrams
Country histories, lifestyles, customs, statistical data, embassy contacts, images, maps, sounds, and recipes are provided. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
D&B Million Dollar Directory
Directory of U.S. and international companies, both public and private. Limit search by affiliation, geography, industry identifiers, export/import, occupation, as well as minority or women owned businesses. Great resource for job interview preparation. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Dance in Video
Offers video of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies from the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental improvisational dance, and modern concert dance. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Covers authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and playwrights. Content includes biographical data, awards, bibliographies, a descriptive overview, images and reviews. DLB Yearbook offers literary events year by year. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Discovering Collection
Content covers history, literature, biography, science, and social studies. Resources include primary sources, essays, critical analyses, biographies, creative works, and multimedia. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Duluth News-Tribune
Full-text articles from the newspaper, 1995-present. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
EBSCO MegaFILE
Search multiple collections of magazine articles, reference books, and images at one time. Subjects include science, humanities, social sciences, technology, business. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Educator's Reference Complete
Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Includes full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and reference sources. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Contiene información sobre gente, lugares, objetos, acontecimientos e ideas para los estudiantes de primaria a secundaria. Incluye enlaces a periódicos en español de todo el mundo. Aprovecha esta enciclopedia para investigar y divertirte. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Encyclopedia Americana
Encyclopedia articles prepared by leading authorities in their field. Includes media, tables, facts and figures, maps, further reading, abstracts from magazine articles, web links, and related articles. Includes Americana Journal, a searchable database of events organized by nation and/or international organization and by date. For high school students and adults. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
ERIC
Indexes education-related literature from 1966 to the present. Special collections from the What Works Clearinghouse and the Regional Educational Laboratories. Some full-text available. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Find articles from scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers across all academic disciplines. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.


ELM resources are licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations to the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.

hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS