home > reference & research > databases f - m

Search online magazines and newspaper articlesnew

Databases       A-E     F-M     N-Z
 
Fiction Connection
Discover fiction titles similar to books you already enjoy. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Fold3 History & Genealogy Archives Plus
Access original historical documents including U.S. military records, newspapers, photos, city directories, naturalization documents, personal histories, and more. Includes the following Fold3 archives: African American, American Revolution, Holocaust, Native American, U.S. Bureau of Investigation Case File, and World War II. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Foundation Directory Online Professional
Searchable database covering over 76,600 U.S. foundations and corporate giving programs. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
Searchable database of more than 6,500 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
FreedomFlix
Explore significant events in history using Scholastic's Cornerstones of Freedom book series. You can watch videos, read books online and other related material, visit recommended websites, do a project, and answer questions about your topic. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Freegal
Download music from 28,000 labels including the labels of Sony Music Entertainment. Available as a mobile app for iOS and Android. Get it from the iTunes Store or Google Play Store. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Gale Directory Library
Sources include Brands & Their Companies, American Wholesalers & Distributers, Publishers Directory, Trade Shows Worldwide, and Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Gale Literature Archive
Cross-search two or more of Gale's literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Topics include literature, art, biography, business, religion, science, education, history, law, social science, medicine, multicultural studies, and general reference. Your favorite Gale reference book is in this resource. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Gale's Ready Reference Shelf
Directories in Print, Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers, Encyclopedia of American Religions, three volumes of Encyclopedia of Associations, including International, National, and State and Local, Gale Directory of Databases, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Publishers Directory, Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations, Government Research Directory, and Research Centers Directory. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Genealogy Connect
Single search access to more than 1500 authoritative genealogy resources including histories and records of Native American tribes to colonial period and American immigration works to tracing royal and noble ancestry. Also includes articles on getting started, research and organization tips for creating your family tree. Articles can be printed, saved, emailed or shared. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
General Reference Center Gold
General-interest newspapers, journals, magazines, videos on current events, popular culture, business and industry, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies. 1980-present. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
General Science Collection
Scientific journal articles on physics, mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, chemistry, and biology. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia of articles, images, maps, sound and multimedia. Research Starters offers suggestions for topics to study and a research plan for each topic. For middle and high school students. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Grolier Online
Search all of HCL's Grolier databases simultaneously or individually. Includes Lands & Peoples, New Book of Popular Science, Amazing Animals of the World, New Book of Knowledge, Encyclopedia Americana, America the Beautiful, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Research diseases, medical conditions, drugs, herbal remedies, and alternative medicine, health assessment tools. Spanish available. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides articles from medical sciences, food sciences, and nutrition, about childcare, sports medicine and general health. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Covers ethics, inquiry, pediatric, mental health, allied health. Includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering generic drug patient education sheets on numerous brand names. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
HeritageQuest
American genealogical sources, primary sources, local and family histories, images, finding aids. Coverage from late 1700's. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Historical New York Times, 1851–2009
Offers full page and article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue. See ProQuest Digital Microfilm for current articles. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Quantitative information covering every aspect of American history from the earliest times to the present. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Hoover's Company Records
Industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers. Great resource for job interview preparation. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Human Resources Compliance Library
Addresses changing HR practices and federal and state laws covering: Benefits, Compensation, Discrimination and Retaliation, Employee Relations, HR Management, Organizational and Employee Development, Safety, Security, Risk Management, Staffing, and Unions. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Informe!
El texto completo de 50 de los más populares periódicos y diarios de habla hispana y bilingües, incluyendo el periódico en español El Nuevo Herald (Miami, FL). more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
InfoTrac Kids
Full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, and reference books. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
InfoTrac Student
Secondary school periodicals, reference books covering politics, current events, arts and entertainment, automobiles, recreation and leisure, crime. Includes historical images and maps. 1985-present. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Jazz Music Library
Listen to and create playlists of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Liner notes available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Job and Career Accelerator
Explore occupations, search for jobs, build a resume. Tools to Get Hired section offers tips for the job search process, including filling out an application, learning computer software, and job interviewing. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
JobNow
Live interview coaching, online resume and cover letter assistance. Also offers practice tests, online writing lab, and skill building tools in math, reading, writing. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
JSTOR
Offers scholarly journals, conference proceedings, primary source materials, and books covering the fields of humanities, social sciences, math, and sciences. Articles generally become available 3-5 years after publication. Coverage varies by journal. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Junior Reference Collection
Information from reference books about people, places, history, science, and more. Includes audio, video, photos, and maps. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Kids InfoBits
For beginning researchers in K-5. Full-text content is from elementary reference sources and magazines. Topics cover geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history and sports. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Kids Search
Offers magazine articles, biographies, essays, science resources, primary source documents, photos and maps. For elementary and middle school students. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre
Ofrece artículos enciclopédicos completos con fotos, mapas y sonidos. Incluye lecturas seleccionadas para estudiantes de español acerca de la historia, la geografía y la cultura del mundo de habla hispana. Para estudiantes de escuela intermedia y secundaria. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Lands & Peoples
Interactive encyclopedia of countries cultures and events. Covers land, climate, people, government. Includes maps, images, data, time-lines, and links. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
LearningExpress Library
Practice taking tests online, including SAT, ACT, TOEFL, adult basic skills, civil service, law enforcement, military, EMS, postal services, firefighter, and U.S. citizenship. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Legal Forms (Gale)
Officially approved forms covering bankruptcy, bill of sale, contracts, divorce, employment, incorporation, landlord/tenant, living wills, name change, power of attorney, real estate, taxes and wills. Includes federal and Minnesota forms. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Articles from periodicals, books, research reports, and proceedings on librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval and information management. Coverage back to mid-1960s. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Literature Criticism Online
Extensive compilation of literary commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. Includes content from the following print series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Literary Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Literature Resource Center
Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Topics covered include English, Modern Languages, Ancient History and Classics, Women's Studies, and Cultural Studies. Coverage goes back to 1400. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
LitFinder
International coverage goes back to the 9th Century. Indexes poems, short stories, essays, speeches, plays, biographies, work summaries, and photographs. Content consists of full-text, citations, or abstracts. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for popular high school magazines, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags, color PDFs. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
MasterFILE Premier
Topics include business, health, education, and general science. Content includes full-text periodical articles, general reference books, primary sources, photos, and maps. Coverage back to 1975. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
MedlinePlus
Research diseases, conditions, wellness issues, drugs, supplements, and treatments. Resources include videos, tutorials, illustrations, and a dictionary. From the National Library of Medicine. more info.
Funded by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Middle Search Plus
Full text for more than 100 middle school magazines are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Thousands of biographies, historical essays, primary source documents and images including photos, maps, flags, and color PDFs are also available. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Minnesota Career Information System (MCIS)
Set career goals, build a resume, search for jobs, and plan your education path with this database. Resources include occupation descriptions, job search tools, college information sources including financial aid planning. Data provided is Minnesota specific. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Minnesota Grantmakers Online
Searchable database of Minnesota grantmakers and grants. Accessible only at Central Library, 4th floor -- please ask staff for assistance. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Minnesota Magazine Index
Index of articles on local and statewide politics, news, current events, history and the arts that appeared in 9 Minnesota magazines from 1991 to 2005. Formerly called MNMag. more info.
Developed and maintained by Hennepin County Library staff.
Minnesota News Collection
Collection of Minnesota news resources from print and online-only newspapers, journals, blogs, and broadcast transcripts. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
MnLINK – Minnesota Library Information Network
Search for materials at public and academic libraries across the state of Minnesota. more info.
Funded by the State of Minnesota.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
In-depth data and analysis on stocks, funds, and ETF's. Also offers portfolio guidance. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Music in Print
Locate musical scores and sheet music in print. Content includes choral, vocal, organ, orchestral, string, classical guitar, woodwind, piano, chamber, band, handbell, harp, percussion, jazz, and popular music. Data includes composer, dates, title, instrumentation, arranger, and publisher information. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Music Index
Indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Includes book reviews, obituaries, and news. Some full-text available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Music Online Premium
Cross-searches all of HCL's Alexander Street Press music databases. Contents include streaming audio and video, interviews, liner notes, scores, biographies, and cover art. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.


ELM resources are licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations to the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.

hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS