home > reference & research > sports & recreation
Sub-Topics
 
Games
General Sports News
High School & College Sports
Local & Regional Sports Teams
Local & State Recreation Sites
 
More Sports and Recreation Sites
National Recreation Sites
Professional Sports Leagues
Water Sports
Winter Sports

All Databases
 
All Websites
 
   
MasterFILE Premier
Topics include business, health, education, and general science. Content includes full-text periodical articles, general reference books, primary sources, photos, and maps. Coverage back to 1975. more info.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Research diseases, medical conditions, drugs, herbal remedies, and alternative medicine, health assessment tools. Spanish available. more info.
ProQuest
Search multiple magazine and newspaper resources, in addition to business databases. more info.
ProQuest Newsstand
Full-text articles from major national and regional newspapers, including the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and the Star Tribune. Coverage varies by title. more info.
  Amateur Softball Association of America 
The national governing body of softball for youth and adult teams. LInks to local associations, rules, tournament information.
American Council of Snowmobile Associations 
Snowmobiling facts, state and national organization links, news and events of interest to the snowmobiling community.
American Darts Organization 
Calendar of tournaments with purse amounts, information for youth, and rules.
American Hiking Society 
Includes hiking topics, events and trail conservation advocacy. The Trail Finder link provides information on trails in the United States and Canada.
Baseball  
A comprehensive collection of links to baseball-related sources. Current news, stats, scores, and schedules, links to major and minor league team information, college amateur and semipro ball sites, cards and collectibles, publications and newsgroups.
Baseball Almanac 
Facts, statistics and trivia on professional baseball. Also contains baseball songs, poetry and jokes.
Bicycling in Minneapolis 
Bicycling 101, online bike maps, bike sharing program and much more information on riding in the city.
Boating America 
"A boater's homepage for inland lakes and rivers."
Boxing Digest 
A respected source of all the latest information on the world of boxing, with monthly ratings, features, and previews of upcoming fights.
CanoeCountry.com 
"Your Direct Connection to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness."
Canterbury Park 
Information about Canterbury Park and horse racing.
CBS Sportsline 
News, scores, statistics, team pages, fantasy sports, and an excellent index.
Channel4000 
Minnesota teams, news, and scoreboards.
Cheerleading 
Links to college, high school and younger cheerleading, as well as professional. Also has suppliers, upcoming events and fundraising ideas.
Chris Creamer's Sports Logos Page 
Over 8000 college and professional team logos and uniforms from sports including Lacrosse, Soccer, and the Olympics.
CNN/SI 
CNN/Sports Illustrated. News, scores, & statistics. Links to world sports such as cricket, rugby, & yachting.
Downhill Skiing in Minnesota 
Information on Minnesota and western Wisconsin's major ski areas, as well as links to other ski Web sites.
eiNET -- Sports 
Leisure & Recreational Sports Guide.
ESPN SportsZone 
Comprehensive coverage from the All-stars to the X Games. Last-minute scores, recaps and real time scores. Access to some content requires subscription.
Explore Minnesota 
Browse by activity for recreational fun throughout Minnesota.
FIFA: The Fédération Internationale de Football Association 
Sponsor of the World Cup, FIFA is the place to go for information about Football (Soccer) around the world.
Figure Skating 
The official site of the United States Figure Skating Association, with breaking news, latest results and schedule of events.
Golf Course online 
Find premier golf courses in your area using the handy golf course finder.
Golf link 
Find a course, book a tee time, use yardage maps to plan your game, review tips and lessons, read about golf travel, and more.
Golf.com 
Golf courses worldwide. Also includes articles on featured golf courses, course architecture and environmental issues.
GORP - Great Outdoor Recreation Pages 
Adventure travel and outdoor recreation around the world. Activities (hiking, biking, fishing, etc.), attractions (national parks, forests, etc.), locations, books, gear.
Librarians' Index to the Internet - Sports 
Links to sports sites.
LPGA 
Ladies Professional Golf Association official Web site.
Major League Baseball 
News, standings, statistics, schedules, the official rules of baseball, the Minors, tickets, fantasy baseball and more.
Major League Soccer 
Standings, players, schedules, tickets, fantasy challenge; links to club sites, rules, and everything soccer.
Martial Art Sites 
Search for Martial Arts Schools, read descriptions and history for martial arts styles, follow up with the extensive links (rated for helpfulness) from the sidebar.
Martial Arts 
A guide and links to the martial arts and related topics, including a school search tool.
Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board 
The lakes and parks of Minneapolis are crown jewels of the city - don't miss what's going on.
Minneapolis/St. Paul 
Select Health, Sports and Recreation to find resources on individual, professional, college, and high school sports, bicycling, and recreation centers.
Minnesota Cricket Association 
As the official governing body for Cricket in Minnesota, the MCA promotes the international game of cricket for players and enthusiasts at all levels.
Minnesota Curling Association 
Locate curling clubs and link to the U.S. and Canadian national associations.
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources 
Explore Minnesota state parks, canoe routes, forests, trails, lakes. Offers maps.
Minnesota Lacrosse Association 
Promotes men's and women's lacrosse from youth to post college. Links to history, schedules, national sites.
Minnesota Lynx 
The official site of the Minnesota Lynx basketball team.
Minnesota Roller Girls 
Information on women's flat-track, roller derby league. Season schedule available.
Minnesota Rovers Outdoors Club 
The club for Minnesotans who love the outdoors, sponsoring activities including hiking, biking, canoeing, climbing, skiing, snowshoeing, camping, sight-seeing, and the preservation of the wilderness.
Minnesota Sports Federation 
Amateur sports organization that provides recreational activities for youth and adults. Find leagues for baseball, basketball, broomball, softball, touch football, and volleyball.
Minnesota State High School League 
Link to nearly 500 Minnesota schools for scheduled events and contact information for each sport. Sportsmanship, tournaments, officials and judges, and links to all state and provincial associations.
Minnesota Swarm 
Official Web site for Lacrosse news and links, team schedule and roster, fan center and message board.
Minnesota Timberwolves Home Court 
The official site for Timberwolves basketball. Player profiles, ticket information, and links to other NBA team pages.
Minnesota Twins 
News, statistics, schedules, ticket information, club history.
Minnesota Wild Professional Hockey 
The Official Web site of the National Hockey League's Minnesota Wild.
Motorcycle Safety Center 
Rider training for new and experienced motorcyclists, safety information, class schedules, and links to other motorcycle safety groups.
NASCAR 
News, statistics, and information on races, drivers, teams and industry events.
National Football League 
Official site of the NFL, with links, schedules, player statistics and breaking news and ticket information.
National Horseshoe Pitchers Association of America 
Link to local clubs in the United States and Canada. Find history, rules, tournaments, and information on pit construction.
National Lacrosse League 
Schedule, team standings, statistics, news and rules.
National Park Service 
Parks and Recreation, History and Culture, Nature and Science, & Interpretation and Education.
National Shooting Sports Foundation 
Provides a shooting range directory and gives an overview of the types of shooting sports.
National Sports Center 
Facilities for Soccer, Ice Sports, Cycling, Track & Field, Golf, Lacrosse, and the Olympic Development Program serve millions of people annually at one of the largest amateur sports facilities in the world.
NBA 
Basketball players, news, statistics, standings, schedules, tickets, history, and fantasy basketball.
NCAA Sports 
Provides schools directory, broadcast schedule, index by sport and championship information.
NHL 
National Hockey League official site. Up-to-the-minute news on the league, all the scores, stats, players, injuries, standings, and teams.
North American Football League 
Adult amateur football league that has over 120 teams nationwide.
North Shore Minnesota Snowmobiling 
Snowmobiling trail maps and conditions, snowmobile rentals, clubs, code of ethics, and more including links to other winter activities on the North Shore.
North Star Ski Touring Club 
The largest cross-country skiing club in the lower 48 states, with a year-round schedule of activities.
Olympics 
Future games schedules, recap of past games since 1896, athlete profiles and international sports calendar.
Olympics - London 2012 
Official website of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games, including tickets, schedules, sports, news, videos, photos and venues.
Olympics -- Team USA 
Official site for Team USA Olympics, with links to each sport, athlete interviews, special events, Olympic facts and figures and more.
PGA 
Professional Golfers' Association of America. Find tournaments, events and golf tips.
PGA-Minnesota Section 
Calendar of events, list of scoring leaders, member directory and information on the Minnesota State Open. Links to PGA of America and Minnesota PGA Junior Golf.
Pioneer Press -- Sports 
Scores, sports news and schedules updated daily. Links to local teams.
Professional Disc Golf Association 
Find the rules, a course directory, and information on the PDGA Tour.
Recreation.Gov 
Recreational opportunities on Federal Lands.
Rotowire 
Find fantasy sports information for football, baseball and many other sports. Check for news, cheatsheets, expert advice, discussion forums or how to join a league.
Saint Paul Saints Professional Baseball 
Official site for team information, schedules, tickets, news, and a kids zone.
SCUBA Diving 
News and information, certification, travel, essentials for beginners, shark and marine life facts.
SkiCentral 
Snowboarders and skiers can search for ski resorts, lodging, gear, snow reports, snowcams, events, news and more, including searching by region.
SledCity.com 
News and information about bobsledding, skeleton, luge, tobogganing, snowboarding, dogsled racing, and more.
Snowmobiletrails 
Trail maps searchable by county, lake, trail name and nearby city; trail condition reports; information on lodging, nightlife, restaurants; tips from veteran snowmobilers; brief information on licenses and laws.
Special Olympics 
News stories, competition and events calendar. Scroll to the bottom of the home page to contact your local program.
Sporting News 
News, opinions, and analyses on most sports, plus fantasy and arcade games. Over 110 years of archived sports history.
Star Tribune Sports 
Sports news and schedules for pro and prep teams.
Swimming 
Official Web site of USA swimming.
TeeMaster 
Choose a state and area to search golf courses and book tee times online
Tennis Magazine Online 
The Official site of Tennis Magazine. News and articles, equipment reviews, instructional and fitness articles, profiles of major tennis camps and resorts, and discussion forums.
Tennis Server 
Daily tennis news, archives and files on tournaments, rules and code of tennis, Tennis FAQ, and links to other tennis sites.
TheMat.com - The Official Website of USA Wrestling 
The ultimate source for real wrestling! Find international college, high school, and youth wrestling results, schedules and links, and much more. USA Wrestling is the national governing body for the sport of wrestling in the United States and, as such, is its representative to the United States Olympic Committee. Coordinates amateur wrestling programs in the nation and works to create interest and participation in these programs.
Theme Parks 
Information and reviews about theme parks and amusement parks.
Three Rivers Park District 
Hennepin Parks offer facilities and activities for every season. Nature centers, trails, family programs, & holiday events are available year round.
Twin Cities Bicycling Club 
TCBC is the largest recreational bicycling club in the Minneapolis-Saint Paul area, with rides and events for a range of skill levels. Bicycling 101, bike tips, links to area bike shops and other organizations are included.
Twin Cities Golf 
Find golf courses, golf lessons, tournaments and events. Also has local golf news.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service 
Information on the year-round types of recreation offered in national wildlife refuges, regulations for hunting and fishing, conservation efforts, and calendar of events. Includes a geographic search.
United States Billiard Association 
Find official rules, tournaments and billard rooms nationwide and get instruction from the pros.
United States Bocce Federation 
Learn the history of the game, how to construct a court and get instruction for developing skills.
United States Croquet Association 
Learn the official rules. Find clubs and tournaments across the United States and Canada.
United States Golf Association 
News, rules, championships, links to state and regional groups.
United States Martial Arts Federation 
Martial arts events, official systems, national programs, affiliates and partners are all linked here.
United States Ski and Snowboard Association (USSA) 
Founded in 1904, USSA "is the national governing body for Olympic skiing and snowboarding." Features news and athlete rankings for snowboarding, ski jumping and aerials, and alpine, cross-country, and disabled skiing. Also includes material about international and domestic competitions, rules for each sport, team eligibility requirements, television schedules, links to the U.S. Ski Team and U.S. Snowboard Team sites, and more.
University of Minnesota Golden Gopher Sports 
Men's and women's sports programs, including basketball, football, volleyball, gymnastics, and golf; ticket information, press releases and a chat board.
Up North Outdoors 
"The Ultimate Outdoor Site for hunting, fishing, ice fishing, snowmobiles, 4x4's, resorts, RV's, and guided trips".
US Speedskating 
US Speedskating is a non-profit organization recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the International Skating Union as the governing body for the sport of speedskating in the United States.?Events, rules, clubs, parent, coach, and volunteer information plus much more.
USA Broomball 
Supports U.S. broomball on a state and national level; part of the International Federation of Broomball Associations. Information on tournaments, leagues, rules, merchandise, photos and a player message board.
USA Gymnastics  
Search for gymnastics clubs and links to state and regional sites. National and international news and events.
USA National Shuffleboard Association 
Provides rules, information on national championship tournaments and links to shuffleboard clubs.
USA Table Tennis 
Governs the Olympic sport in the United States. Includes regional tournament schedule and both official and "unofficial basement rules."
USA Today Sports 
Current sports news & scores, daily columns, prep rankings, transactions, TV listings, and latest wagering odds.
Vikings.Com 
The Official site of the Minnesota Vikings.
Walking 
Includes all types of walking, training, equipment, weather tips, nutrition, fluids, injury prevention, stretching, clubs, events, books, music, and videos plus links to related websites.
WNBA 
Official website of the Women's National Basketball Association.
Women's Professional Football League 
News, history, teams, rosters, schedules, youth league, tickets, and links to all the teams, including our own Minnesota Vixens.



hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS