home > reference & research > special collections > Minneapolis collection
Edward S. Stebbins Collection M/A 1998.26.01

Edward S. Stebbins Collection M/A 1998.26.01

Creator:Stebbins, Edward S., 1854-1934
Title: Edward S. Stebbins Collection
Quantity: 1.0 boxes
Repository: James K. Hosmer Special Collections Library


Edward Somerby Stebbins was born on February 9, 1854, in Boston, Massachusetts, to Edward M. and Lydia Somerby Stebbins. In 1868 he moved to Troy, New York, then to Saratoga Springs, New York (1870-1877). In 1872 he commenced architectural study at the recently founded Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and was graduated in 1876. He then worked with E. D. Harris to expand Saratoga Spring's Grand Union Hotel. By 1874 he was its sole supervisor, and by 1876 the hotel claimed to be the world's largest.

In 1877 he relocated to Minneapolis, Minnesota, making him the first graduate of a collegiate architectural program to practice there. He first partnered with fellow MIT classmate George R. Mann (1878-1879), then worked solo until 1914. Subsequent partnerships included Stebbins and Haxby, then Stebbins, Haxby, and Bissell. He was a charter member of the Architectural Assocation of Minnesota (1881), a member of the American Institute of Architects, and president of its Minnesota chapter. Best known as a designer of schools, churches, and public buildings, Stebbins served as the Minneapolis Board of Education's school architect for more than a decade. He drew plans for the Hennepin County jail and poor-house, Christ Church, Richfield town hall, and several public buildings in Grand Forks, North Dakota.

Stebbins built a two-story wooden frame residence at 320 Oak Grove Street in 1879. The following February he married Penelope Crocker, and their offspring included daughters Vera P. L. Stebbins and Mary (Mrs. Walter M.) Paulson and granddaughter Mary Penelope (Mrs. Jack) Kuehn. Edward Stebbins died on March 3, 1934, at home and is buried in Lakewood Cemetery.

Collection Description

One box. The Edward S. Stebbins Collection consists of an original student essay, "A Search for Mr. Stebbins, Architect." Patty Baker submitted the paper to Professor Ernest F. Sandeen on December 4, 1978, for his American archtectural history course. The essay includes 25 original photographs of extant structures and a list of twenty-one structures attributed to him.

Also included are miscellaneous items such as Stebbins death certificate, Baker correspondence, and a copy of a talk by Penny Petersen on Pratt School and its architect Edward Stebbins.

Related Material

See also this book in Special Collections, Minneapolis Collection:

Minnesota Architects: A Biographical DictionaryNA730.M6 L38 2010.

See also 5 photographs in the Minneapolis Historic Photo Collection.

Subject Headings


Church architecture -- Designs and plans.
Dwellings -- Minnesota -- Minneapolis.
School buildings -- Minnesota -- Minneapolis -- Design and construction.


Minneapolis (Minn.) -- Buildings, structures, etc.


Architects -- Minnesota -- Minneapolis.

Table of Contents

hcl mobile app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS