home > reference & research > databases

Search online magazines and newspaper articlesnew

Databases       A-E     F-M     N-Z
 
3M Cloud Library
Download books for readers of all ages. Access limited to Hennepin County residents and property owners. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Offers company profiles including annual reports, journal and newspaper articles. Also includes industry and market research reports. Great resource for job interview preparation. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Academic Search Premier
Contains scholarly publications covering all academic disciplines. Includes indexing and abstracts and some full-text articles. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Access World News: Research Collection
Collection of news resources from across Minnesota, the U.S. and the world from newspapers, blogs, journals, magazines, news wires, transcripts, and web-only sources. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Adult Learning Center
Get live coaching for several tests, use the practice test center, prepare for the U.S. citizenship exam, get help using various Microsoft tools all with this JobNow resource from Brainfuse. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
ALLDATA Automotive Diagnostic and Repair Information
The world's most comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information. Available only on library workstations. Best viewed using Internet Explorer or Firefox. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Alt HealthWatch
Full-text articles from journals, reports, pamphlets, and original research. Contents cover complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Amazing Animals of the World
Information on animals from aardvarks to zebras, including color photos and games. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
America the Beautiful
Offers state history and current events. Includes images, maps, a timeline, quizzes and games. For elementary and middle school students. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
American Indian Experience
Offers articles as well as primary documents, including treaties, speeches, traditional tales, maps and photos. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740–1941
Digitized images of articles from 1740-1940 covering art, history, literature, politics, education and general news. Original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
American Song
Listen to and create playlists of music from a large historical collection of people, events and genres from America's past. Liner notes available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Ancestry Library Edition
An ever expanding collection of records, including U.S. Federal Census records, passenger lists, birth, death, marriage, and military records, family and local history collections, newspapers and directories. Also includes international records. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
ArchiveGrid
Online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Art Full Text
Features full-text articles, and indexing for peer-reviewed journals, dissertations, and art reproductions. Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Art Retrospective
Contents are for years1929-1984, an earlier period not covered by other versions of Art Index. Covers international English-language arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition & award notices, exhibition listings, book and film reviews. Some articles are peer-reviewed. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Associations Unlimited
Information provided on local, U.S., and worldwide, nonprofit membership organizations and professional societies. Contents include contact information, affiliations, and a brief history. Some entries include IRS information. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Locate biographical citations for more than 1,000 volumes and editions of current and retrospective biographical reference sources. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Biography In Context
Biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Searchable by birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. Results include images, audio, and articles from periodicals and reference books. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Birds of North America Online
Provides life histories of bird species breeding in USA (including Hawaii) and Canada. Recordings of songs and calls. Image and video galleries. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
BookFLIX
Classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods and nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Books in Print
Search the marketplace of in print, out of print, or forthcoming books, ebooks, audiobooks, and videos. Find reviews, tables of contents, full-text previews, cover images, author biographies, awards information, annotations, and publisher contact information. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Britannica for Kids
Encyclopedia articles, videos, websites and magazine articles. For elementary and middle school ages. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Britannica Reference Center
Accompanying the expansive encyclopedia articles are primary sources, news, websites, video, images, magazine articles, eBooks, and an interactive atlas. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Business Insights: Essentials
In-depth company information and extensive access to business magazines & industry surveys. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Business Source Premier
Full-text articles from scholarly business journals, dating as far back as 1922. For quick access to detailed company and industry profiles, country economic reports, and market research reports use the Enhanced Business Searching Interface. Great resource for job interview preparation. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
Includes photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video, and mixed media. Eras are prehistoric to contemporary. Museums are mostly U.S. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Find print and electronic publications from all branches of the U.S. Government. more info.
Funded by the United States Government Printing Office.
Classical Music Library
Listen to and create playlists of classical music performances, as well as folk, musicals, soundtracks, opera, and world music. Time periods range from medieval to 21st century. Liner notes available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Classical Scores Library
Printable scores from various composers, genres, and time periods. Allows users to listen to audio recordings in Classical Music Library while viewing the score. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
CollegeSource
Full-text of 2 and 4-year college catalogs, along with graduate and professional or trade schools. Entries include maps, college profiles, and websites. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Full-text of widely read poems, including commentaries and biographies. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Consumer Health Complete
Mainstream, complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Full-text reports and magazine articles. Content includes images, diagrams, videos, pamphlets, and narrated animations. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Consumer Reports
Browse and search the latest issues of Consumer Reports magazine. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Consumers' Checkbook
Consumer survey ratings of local services and stores. Includes articles with buying advice. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Contemporary Authors
Offers biographical and bibliographic information about U.S. and international authors. Search by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, and subject/genre. Content includes personal and career information, awards and honors, adaptations, and commentary. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Contemporary World Music
Listen to and create playlists of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from every continent. Liner notes available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Corporate Affiliations
Business profiles for major public and private companies worldwide. Search results include recent news, executives, shell companies, competitors, outside service firms, and financial information. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
CQ Researcher
Reports address the most current and controversial issues of the day with detailed discussions of the various sides of the issues, summaries, bibliographies, and links to related stories. Pro/Con section presents opposing sides of an issue. Content goes back to 1991. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
CQ Weekly
Thorough coverage of the week in Congress including bill status, vote reports, and updates on all committees. Content goes back to October 1983. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
CultureGrams
Country histories, lifestyles, customs, statistical data, embassy contacts, images, maps, sounds, and recipes are provided. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
D&B Million Dollar Directory
Directory of U.S. and international companies, both public and private. Limit search by affiliation, geography, industry identifiers, export/import, occupation, as well as minority or women owned businesses. Great resource for job interview preparation. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Dance in Video
Offers video of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies from the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental improvisational dance, and modern concert dance. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Covers authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and playwrights. Content includes biographical data, awards, bibliographies, a descriptive overview, images and reviews. DLB Yearbook offers literary events year by year. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Discovering Collection
Content covers history, literature, biography, science, and social studies. Resources include primary sources, essays, critical analyses, biographies, creative works, and multimedia. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Duluth News-Tribune
Full-text articles from the newspaper, 1995-present. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
EBSCO MegaFILE
Search multiple collections of magazine articles, reference books, and images at one time. Subjects include science, humanities, social sciences, technology, business. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Educator's Reference Complete
Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Includes full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and reference sources. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Contiene información sobre gente, lugares, objetos, acontecimientos e ideas para los estudiantes de primaria a secundaria. Incluye enlaces a periódicos en español de todo el mundo. Aprovecha esta enciclopedia para investigar y divertirte. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Encyclopedia Americana
Encyclopedia articles prepared by leading authorities in their field. Includes media, tables, facts and figures, maps, further reading, abstracts from magazine articles, web links, and related articles. Includes Americana Journal, a searchable database of events organized by nation and/or international organization and by date. For high school students and adults. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
ERIC
Indexes education-related literature from 1966 to the present. Special collections from the What Works Clearinghouse and the Regional Educational Laboratories. Some full-text available. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Find articles from scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers across all academic disciplines. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Fiction Connection
Discover fiction titles similar to books you already enjoy. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Fold3 History & Genealogy Archives Plus
Access original historical documents including U.S. military records, newspapers, photos, city directories, naturalization documents, personal histories, and more. Includes the following Fold3 archives: African American, American Revolution, Holocaust, Native American, U.S. Bureau of Investigation Case File, and World War II. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Foundation Directory Online Professional
Searchable database covering over 76,600 U.S. foundations and corporate giving programs. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
Searchable database of more than 6,500 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
FreedomFlix
Explore significant events in history using Scholastic's Cornerstones of Freedom book series. You can watch videos, read books online and other related material, visit recommended websites, do a project, and answer questions about your topic. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Freegal
Download music from 28,000 labels including the labels of Sony Music Entertainment. Available as a mobile app for iOS and Android. Get it from the iTunes Store or Google Play Store. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Gale Directory Library
Sources include Brands & Their Companies, American Wholesalers & Distributers, Publishers Directory, Trade Shows Worldwide, and Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Gale Literature Archive
Cross-search two or more of Gale's literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Topics include literature, art, biography, business, religion, science, education, history, law, social science, medicine, multicultural studies, and general reference. Your favorite Gale reference book is in this resource. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Gale's Ready Reference Shelf
Directories in Print, Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers, Encyclopedia of American Religions, three volumes of Encyclopedia of Associations, including International, National, and State and Local, Gale Directory of Databases, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Publishers Directory, Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations, Government Research Directory, and Research Centers Directory. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Genealogy Connect
Single search access to more than 1500 authoritative genealogy resources including histories and records of Native American tribes to colonial period and American immigration works to tracing royal and noble ancestry. Also includes articles on getting started, research and organization tips for creating your family tree. Articles can be printed, saved, emailed or shared. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
General Reference Center Gold
General-interest newspapers, journals, magazines, videos on current events, popular culture, business and industry, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies. 1980-present. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
General Science Collection
Scientific journal articles on physics, mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, chemistry, and biology. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia of articles, images, maps, sound and multimedia. Research Starters offers suggestions for topics to study and a research plan for each topic. For middle and high school students. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Grolier Online
Search all of HCL's Grolier databases simultaneously or individually. Includes Lands & Peoples, New Book of Popular Science, Amazing Animals of the World, New Book of Knowledge, Encyclopedia Americana, America the Beautiful, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Research diseases, medical conditions, drugs, herbal remedies, and alternative medicine, health assessment tools. Spanish available. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides articles from medical sciences, food sciences, and nutrition, about childcare, sports medicine and general health. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Covers ethics, inquiry, pediatric, mental health, allied health. Includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering generic drug patient education sheets on numerous brand names. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
HeritageQuest
American genealogical sources, primary sources, local and family histories, images, finding aids. Coverage from late 1700's. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922)
Searchable full page images from the Minneapolis Tribune. more info.
Subscription purchased with funds provided to Minnesota State Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services Technology Act (LSTA) through the Institute of Museums and Library Services.
Historical New York Times, 1851–2009
Offers full page and article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue. See ProQuest Digital Microfilm for current articles. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Quantitative information covering every aspect of American history from the earliest times to the present. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Hoover's Company Records
Industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers. Great resource for job interview preparation. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Human Resources Compliance Library
Addresses changing HR practices and federal and state laws covering: Benefits, Compensation, Discrimination and Retaliation, Employee Relations, HR Management, Organizational and Employee Development, Safety, Security, Risk Management, Staffing, and Unions. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Informe!
El texto completo de 50 de los más populares periódicos y diarios de habla hispana y bilingües, incluyendo el periódico en español El Nuevo Herald (Miami, FL). more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
InfoTrac Kids
Full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, and reference books. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
InfoTrac Student
Secondary school periodicals, reference books covering politics, current events, arts and entertainment, automobiles, recreation and leisure, crime. Includes historical images and maps. 1985-present. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Jazz Music Library
Listen to and create playlists of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Liner notes available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Job and Career Accelerator
Explore occupations, search for jobs, build a resume. Tools to Get Hired section offers tips for the job search process, including filling out an application, learning computer software, and job interviewing. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
JobNow
Live interview coaching, online resume and cover letter assistance. Also offers practice tests, online writing lab, and skill building tools in math, reading, writing. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
JSTOR
Offers scholarly journals, conference proceedings, primary source materials, and books covering the fields of humanities, social sciences, math, and sciences. Articles generally become available 3-5 years after publication. Coverage varies by journal. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Junior Reference Collection
Information from reference books about people, places, history, science, and more. Includes audio, video, photos, and maps. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Kids InfoBits
For beginning researchers in K-5. Full-text content is from elementary reference sources and magazines. Topics cover geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history and sports. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Kids Search
Offers magazine articles, biographies, essays, science resources, primary source documents, photos and maps. For elementary and middle school students. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre
Ofrece artículos enciclopédicos completos con fotos, mapas y sonidos. Incluye lecturas seleccionadas para estudiantes de español acerca de la historia, la geografía y la cultura del mundo de habla hispana. Para estudiantes de escuela intermedia y secundaria. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Lands & Peoples
Interactive encyclopedia of countries cultures and events. Covers land, climate, people, government. Includes maps, images, data, time-lines, and links. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
LearningExpress Library
Practice taking tests online, including SAT, ACT, TOEFL, adult basic skills, civil service, law enforcement, military, EMS, postal services, firefighter, and U.S. citizenship. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Legal Forms (Gale)
Officially approved forms covering bankruptcy, bill of sale, contracts, divorce, employment, incorporation, landlord/tenant, living wills, name change, power of attorney, real estate, taxes and wills. Includes federal and Minnesota forms. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Articles from periodicals, books, research reports, and proceedings on librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval and information management. Coverage back to mid-1960s. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Literature Criticism Online
Extensive compilation of literary commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. Includes content from the following print series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Literary Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Literature Resource Center
Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Topics covered include English, Modern Languages, Ancient History and Classics, Women's Studies, and Cultural Studies. Coverage goes back to 1400. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
LitFinder
International coverage goes back to the 9th Century. Indexes poems, short stories, essays, speeches, plays, biographies, work summaries, and photographs. Content consists of full-text, citations, or abstracts. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for popular high school magazines, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags, color PDFs. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
MasterFILE Premier
Topics include business, health, education, and general science. Content includes full-text periodical articles, general reference books, primary sources, photos, and maps. Coverage back to 1975. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
MedlinePlus
Research diseases, conditions, wellness issues, drugs, supplements, and treatments. Resources include videos, tutorials, illustrations, and a dictionary. From the National Library of Medicine. more info.
Funded by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Middle Search Plus
Full text for more than 100 middle school magazines are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Thousands of biographies, historical essays, primary source documents and images including photos, maps, flags, and color PDFs are also available. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Minnesota Career Information System (MCIS)
Set career goals, build a resume, search for jobs, and plan your education path with this database. Resources include occupation descriptions, job search tools, college information sources including financial aid planning. Data provided is Minnesota specific. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Minnesota Grantmakers Online
Searchable database of Minnesota grantmakers and grants. Accessible only at Central Library, 4th floor -- please ask staff for assistance. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Minnesota Magazine Index
Index of articles on local and statewide politics, news, current events, history and the arts that appeared in 9 Minnesota magazines from 1991 to 2005. Formerly called MNMag. more info.
Developed and maintained by Hennepin County Library staff.
Minnesota News Collection
Collection of Minnesota news resources from print and online-only newspapers, journals, blogs, and broadcast transcripts. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
MnLINK – Minnesota Library Information Network
Search for materials at public and academic libraries across the state of Minnesota. more info.
Funded by the State of Minnesota.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
In-depth data and analysis on stocks, funds, and ETF's. Also offers portfolio guidance. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Music in Print
Locate musical scores and sheet music in print. Content includes choral, vocal, organ, orchestral, string, classical guitar, woodwind, piano, chamber, band, handbell, harp, percussion, jazz, and popular music. Data includes composer, dates, title, instrumentation, arranger, and publisher information. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Music Index
Indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Includes book reviews, obituaries, and news. Some full-text available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Music Online Premium
Cross-searches all of HCL's Alexander Street Press music databases. Contents include streaming audio and video, interviews, liner notes, scores, biographies, and cover art. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
National Climate Data Center
Official, authoritative weather records at the local, state and national levels, for both current and historical time periods. more info.
Funded by the Federal Depository Library Program.
National Geographic Magazine
Search the complete archive of National Geographic magazine along with a collection of books, maps, images and videos. Archive includes 1888-Current. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
New Book of Knowledge
General knowledge encyclopedic database for elementary and middle school students. Search by keyword or browse the collection alphabetically or by subject. Includes world history timelines, projects and experiments and homework help tips on research, studying and writing. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
New Book of Popular Science
News, science projects, biographies, and games covering a broad range of science categories. For grades 5-12. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
NewspaperDirect Press Display
Browse the pages of individual newspapers or search a topic in numerous U.S. and international papers. Article backfile is approximately 60 days. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Nonfiction Connection
Reviews, excerpts, award winners, summaries. Searchable by topic, category, time frame. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
NoveList K-8 Plus
Locate age-appropriate fiction and nonfiction reading materials for children and teens. Includes discussion guides, reviews and articles. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
NoveList Plus
Search for descriptions of fiction and nonfiction titles. Find author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and reviews. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
OAIster
Locate digital resources from open archive collections. Contents include digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. Collections include theses, technical reports, research papers, and image collections. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
OmniFile Select
A multidisciplinary, full-text database providing articles from the following Wilson periodical databases: Art Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Index to Legal Periodicals and Books, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
One More Story
Choose a picture book online and listen to wonderful children's stories. Especially for children ages 2-6. One More Story is only available on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
OneClickdigital
Downloadable audiobooks unique from the OverDrive Digital Library collection. Works best using free OneClickdigital Media Manager software available for Windows, Mac, and iOS. Access limited to Hennepin County residents. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Opera in Video
Opera performances captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses. Streaming available for mobile devices. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Social issues covered by pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images, and podcasts. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Optimal Résumé
Create and save resumes and cover letters. Includes job search tools such as practice interviews and skills assessment. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
OverDrive Digital Library
Check out and download books, audiobooks, videos, and music. Access limited to Hennepin County residents and property owners. more info.
Purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes. Additional funding from the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
OverDrive Digital Library (Audiobooks)
Check out and download audiobooks. Access limited to Hennepin County residents and property owners. more info.
Purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes. Additional funding from the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
OverDrive Digital Library (eBooks)
Check out and download eBooks. Access limited to Hennepin County residents and property owners. more info.
Purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes. Additional funding from the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
OverDrive Digital Library (Music)
Check out and download music. Access limited to Hennepin County residents and property owners. more info.
Purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes. Additional funding from the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
OverDrive Digital Library (Video)
Check out and download films, cartoons, and more. Access limited to Hennepin County residents and property owners. more info.
Purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes. Additional funding from the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Oxford Art Online
Classic art reference offering articles, maps, line drawings, and links to images. Includes images of signatures, historical auction records, and lists of museum holdings. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Find the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Oxford Music Online
Biographies of composers, performers, conductors. Includes rock, pop, and jazz artists through history. Covers instruments, notation, forms, styles, individual works, timelines, dictionary. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Philanthropy In/Sight
The Foundation Center’s interactive mapping tool creates images revealing patterns of giving combined with demographic data. Available only on library workstations. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Play Index
Indexes plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Covers plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Searchable by title, author, subject, culture, style, genre, and cast type. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Points of View Reference Center
Essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of a current issue. Offers questions and materials for further thought. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
PowerSearch (Gale databases)
Search across multiple Gale collections of periodical and reference content. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Professional Collection
Provides a custom selection of many full-text journals for professional educators covering teaching the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, as well as child development, substance abuse, health, learning disabilites, teaching literature, education law and sports training. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Professional Development Collection
Full-text education journals and teachers editions. Includes librarianship, counseling, computers, and psychology. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
ProQuest
Search multiple magazine and newspaper resources, in addition to business databases. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
ProQuest Congressional
U.S. Congress publications indexed and abstracted. Coverage back to 1789. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
ProQuest Digital Microfilm
Digitized images from Barron's, The New York Times, The Star Tribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, USA Today, and the Wall Street Journal in their original full-image, including photos, graphs, and tables. Coverage is January 1, 2008 – present, with a 2-3 month lag. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
ProQuest Newsstand
Full-text articles from major national and regional newspapers, including the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and the Star Tribune. Coverage varies by title. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
PubMed
PubMed includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Free full text is available for many articles. more info.
Funded by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
PubWEST
Full-text U.S. patents for 1920 to the present, as well as foreign patents from 32 countries, and Japanese and European patent abstracts. Accessible only at the Central Library, 2nd floor -- please ask staff for assistance. more info.
Funding provided by the Patent and Trademark Depository Library Program.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Indexes general-interest periodicals published U.S. From 1890-1982. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
RedBooks
Profiles domestic and international advertising agencies and advertisers. Indexes brand names. Offers advertising industry data. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
ReferenceUSA
Business, consumer, residential research. U.S. white page listings, new businesses, Canadian businesses. Consumers/Lifestyles database offers market resarch information. Use Advanced Search for detailed categories. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues and from Hennepin County property taxes
Regional Business News
Full-text coverage for regional business publications covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Rochester Post-Bulletin
Coverage is about 15 months behind. The Post-Bulletin provides Rochester and southeast Minnesota with state and regional news and sports information. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Salem History
Contents include primary sources, biographical resources, and information about U.S. and world history. Sources include Milestone Documents, The Decades, Great Lives from History, Great Events from History, Historical Encyclopedia of American Business, Musicians and Composers, Great Athletes, Weapons & Warfare, and American Immigration. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Salem Literature
Using the Magill's Literary Annual series, covers fiction and nonfiction. Includes classic and current criticism, original analysis, biographical information, photographs. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
SAMS Photofact Online
Find schematics and repair information on electronic products for models from 1946 to the present. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Sanborn Digital Maps (Minnesota)
View Sanborn fire insurance maps for Minnesota counties and cities. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Science In Context
Includes overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images and videos, and detailed experiments on popular science topics. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Science Reference Center
Contains full-text for science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Searchasaurus
Search for encyclopedia and magazine articles about your favorite topic. Includes images and a dictionary. For kids in grades K-5. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Short Story Index
Indexes all the important collections and anthologies of short stories published each year. All literary genres are covered. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Small Business Resource Center
Articles from reference books and periodicals cover all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, accounting, taxes and more. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Listen to and create playlists of world music traditions. Liner notes available in PDF. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Social Explorer
Create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. Current and historical US Census, from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 census data release. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Something about the Author
Articles and images detailing the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
St. Paul Pioneer Press
Full-text articles, 1988 to present. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides access to corporation records, executive & director biographies, news & commentary. Information covers the stock market, economy, equities, bonds, funds, and industries. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Star Tribune
Full text of articles from the newspaper, 1986 to present. See also Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) and ProQuest Digital Microfilm. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
Statesman's Yearbook
Covers history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country. Offers chronologies, information about international organizations and an archive of yearbooks back to the 1860's. Includes reading lists and web links for further research. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Student Resources in Context
Subjects include biography, literature, history, science, and multiculturalism. Includes full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary documents, topical essays, biographies, critical analyses, timelines, photos and maps. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Tell Me More
Self-paced language tutor. Offers conversational and business language learning, speech recognition, optional placement assessment test. Languages include English, French, German, Spanish, Latin American Spanish, Italian, and Dutch. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Theatre in Video
Offers streaming video of the world's leading plays and theater-related documentaries. Allows bookmarking and sharing. Content goes back to 1937. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
Transparent Language Online (formerly Byki)
Quickly learn words and phrases in over 70 languages. more info.
Subscription purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), with funding from state and federal tax revenues.
TrueFlix
Investigate people, places, history as well as science and nature by reading books and articles, watching videos, doing projects, playing games, and exploring related websites. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
TumbleBook Library
Animated, talking picture books. Kindergarten - Gr. 5. Highlighted text. Some titles in Spanish and French. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
TumbleBook Library (Spanish)
Los TumbleBooks son libros animados, con ilustraciones que hablan, para enseñar a los niños los placeres de la lectura en un formato que les encantará. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
U.S. History In Context
Primary documents, secondary sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history. Formerly titled History Resource Center: U.S. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Resource
Published U.S. patent application and U.S. patents 1790-present. Full-text U.S. patents for 1920 to the present, as well as foreign patents from 32 countries, and Japanese and European patent abstracts. Includes advanced searching functions. Accessible only at the Central Library, 2nd floor -- please ask staff for assistance. more info.
Funding provided by the Patent and Trademark Depository Library Program.
Ulrich's On The Web
Detailed information on periodicals of all types, including academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and zines. Content includes ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
USA Trade Online
U.S. economic and financial data, international trade statistics, and market research reports. Accessible only at Central Library, 2nd floor -- please ask staff for assistance. more info.
Funded by the Federal Depository Library Program.
Value Line
Financial data reporting, analysis, securities ranking systems. Access up to five years of technical history. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
WestlawNext
Offers free access to state and federal cases, headnotes, statutes, court orders, court rules, and administrative decisions. Available at the Brookdale, Ridgedale, and Southdale Resource Libraries. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
World Book Kids
Find encyclopedia articles, research important people, get pictures, maps, sound and videos. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
World Book Online
In addition to the well-known encyclopedia, offers headline news explored in depth, primary sources, pathfinders, atlases and images and a dictionary. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
World Book Online (Student)
Contains encyclopedia entries, biographies, news articles, video, images, sounds and atlases for the student researcher. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
World History In Context
Broad coverage moving chronologically from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe. Content includes primary sources, reference books, periodicals, maps, atlases and images. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
World News Collection
Collection of news resources from over 50 countries from newspapers, blogs, journals, magazines, news wires, transcripts, and web-only sources. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.
WorldCat
A catalog of material held in libraries worldwide. A good source for identifying items for interlibrary loan requests. more info.
Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) with a state appropriation to the MINITEX Library Information Network.
Zinio
Choose from a varied collection of magazines that can be read on any Internet-enabled device. more info.
Subscription purchased with funding from Hennepin County property taxes.


ELM resources are licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations to the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.

hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS