home » do your homework » countries & geography

Countries & Geography

Sub-Topics

• Maps
• Minnesota
• United States
• World

Databases    

CultureGrams
Country histories, lifestyles, customs, statistical data, embassy contacts, images, maps, sounds, and recipes are provided. more info.

Discovering Collection
Content covers history, literature, biography, science, and social studies. Resources include primary sources, essays, critical analyses, biographies, creative works, and multimedia. more info.

Junior Reference Collection
Information from reference books about people, places, history, science, and more. Includes audio, video, photos, and maps. more info.

Lands & Peoples
Interactive encyclopedia of countries cultures and events. Covers land, climate, people, government. Includes maps, images, data, time-lines, and links. more info.

Statesman's Yearbook
Covers history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country. Offers chronologies, information about international organizations and an archive of yearbooks back to the 1860's. Includes reading lists and web links for further research. more info.

World Book Online
In addition to the well-known encyclopedia, offers headline news explored in depth, primary sources, pathfinders, atlases and images and a dictionary. more info.

 

Websites

Minnesota Alliance for Geographic Education 
Go Minnesota! contains maps and essays about Minnesota's major geographical features, including roads, rivers & land.
http://lt.umn.edu/mage/

Travel and Cultures 
Explore the history and culture of continents, countries and cities. Includes photos and videos from National Geographic.
http://travel.nationalgeographic.co
m/places/


Maps: Minnesota DNR 
Contains interactive and printable maps of natural resources, wildlife, recreational areas, roads and cities in Minnesota.
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/maps/ind
ex.html


Minnesota QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau 
Get quick data about Minnesota counties and cities on population, households, incomes, land area and business.
http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/st
ates/27000.html


d-maps.com 
Provides blank and outline maps of countries, continents and oceans.
http://d-maps.com/

Minnesota Dept. of Natural Resources (DNR) 
Find maps and data for Minnesota's lakes, trails, parks, forests, and other resources.
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/index.ht
ml


Test Your Geography 
Test your knowledge of world geography from Alaska to Zambia with one of these quizzes.
http://www.lizardpoint.com/fun/geoq
uiz/index.php


Background Notes 
The U.S. Department of State's profiles of countries of the world; focus is on economy, education, government and foreign relations.
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/

BBC Country Profiles 
The history, politics and economic background of countries and territories.  Also includes audio and  video clips from BBC archives.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/country_
profiles/default.stm


CIA The World Factbook 
Quick, easy access to maps, flags, country comparisons, and up-to-date information from the Central Intelligence Agency.
https://www.cia.gov/library/publica
tions/the-world-factbook/


Countries of the World 
Fast facts, geography, history, government, plus who's who in each country. From Information Please Almanac.
http://www.infoplease.com/countries
.html


Europa: Gateway to the European Union 
Key facts and figures about Europe and the Europeans.
http://europa.eu/abc/index_en.htm

Stately Knowledge 
Fast facts, plus links to official websites for each state.
http://www.ipl.org/div/stateknow/

States & Capitals 
Get facts and additional resources for all 50 states.
http://www.50states.com/

TeenLinks Subject Guide: Minnesota  
Check out the Minnesota Resource Page on TeenLinks!
http://www.hclib.org/teens/SubjectG
uides.cfm?Topic=Minnesota


World Leaders 
CIA's listing of world leaders by country, including chiefs of state and cabinet members of each government.
https://www.cia.gov/library/publica
tions/world-leaders-1/index.html


Last updated: Oct. 21, 2012
This page maintained by Tracy H.

 
ASK US

CATALOG SEARCHES
Geography
 
MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Connecting to Library Databases
 
NEW TOPIC
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS