home » do your homework » encyclopedias & dictionaries
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Sub-Topics
Enciclopedia Estudiantil HallazgosContiene información sobre gente, lugares, objetos, acontecimientos e ideas para los estudiantes de primaria a secundaria. Incluye enlaces a periódicos en español de todo el mundo.
Aprovecha esta enciclopedia para investigar y divertirte.
more info.
Encyclopædia Britannica OnlineAccompanying the expansive encyclopedia articles are primary sources, news, websites, video, images, magazine articles, eBooks, and an interactive atlas.
more info.
Grolier OnlineSearch all of HCL's Grolier databases simultaneously or individually. Includes Lands and Peoples, New Book of Popular Science, Amazing Animals of the World, New Book of Knowledge, Encyclopedia Americana, America the Beautiful, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre.
more info.
Lands & PeoplesInteractive encyclopedia of countries cultures and events. Covers land, climate, people, government. Includes maps, images, data, time-lines, and links.
more info.
Oxford English Dictionary OnlineFind the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words.
more info.
(Show more)
Websites
Wordnik: all the words
Modern dictionary with photos, tweets and user comments. Includes traditional definitions and usage notes.
http://www.wordnik.com/
Google Translate
Enter text, webpage URL or upload a document for translation between more than 50 languages.
http://translate.google.com/#
Visual Dictionary Online
A visual dictionary organized by themes provided by Merriam-Webster.
http://visual.merriam-webster.com/i
ndex.php
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Dictionary and thesaurus. Provides synonyms, antonyms, and audio pronunciation.
http://www.m-w.com/
Browse Topics
Browse by topic for government information on a variety of topics such as law, history, military, the environment and many more.
http://www.browsetopics.gov/
Show all websites
Last updated: May. 6, 2012
This page maintained by
Christina G.