home » do your homework » english & language arts

English & Language Arts

Sub-Topics

• Authors
• Creative Writing
• Criticism & Study Guides
 
• Poetry
• eBooks

Databases    

Discovering Collection
Content covers history, literature, biography, science, and social studies. Resources include primary sources, essays, critical analyses, biographies, creative works, and multimedia. more info.

Junior Reference Collection
Information from reference books about people, places, history, science, and more. Includes audio, video, photos, and maps. more info.

Literature Resource Center
Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Topics covered include English, Modern Languages, Ancient History and Classics, Women's Studies, and Cultural Studies. Coverage goes back to 1400. more info.

LitFinder
International coverage goes back to the 9th Century. Indexes poems, short stories, essays, speeches, plays, biographies, work summaries, and photographs. Content consists of full-text, citations, or abstracts. more info.

NetLibrary
Now EBSCO Ebooks and EBSCO Audiobooks. more info.

NoveList Plus
Search for descriptions of fiction and nonfiction titles. Find author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and reviews. more info.

World Book Online
In addition to the well-known encyclopedia, offers headline news explored in depth, primary sources, pathfinders, atlases and images and a dictionary. more info.

 

Websites

Paris Review Interviews with Authors 
Authors talk about themselves and their work in these interviews.
http://www.theparisreview.org/inter
views/name/#list


Literary Criticism Collection 
Includes critical and biographical Web sites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period. Also includes links to other sources on the web.
http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/

Text Etc 
Resources for writing, teaching and reading poetry.
http://www.textetc.com/

Project Gutenberg 
Download over 30,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPhone, Kindle, Sony Reader or other portable device.  Includes classic authors like Austen, Twain, Dickens, and more.
http://www.gutenberg.org

Poets 
Poem database, information on poets, poetry awards, poetry almanac, and writers' resources.
http://www.poets.org/

Bartleby Great Books Online 
An extensive full-text collection of literature reference materials.
http://www.bartleby.com/

Bartlett's Familiar Quotations 
Over 11,000 quotations searchable by keyword or by author index. Tenth edition.
http://www.bartleby.com/100/

Cliffs Notes 
Free online literature study guides, as well as guides for several other subjects.
http://www.cliffsnotes.com/

Figment 
Share your writing, connect with other readers, and discover new stories and authors.
http://figment.com/

Library Subject Guide: Research Books & Authors  
Check out more resources selected by Hennepin County librarians.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/bookspace/
ResearchBooks.cfm


LitReactor 
A destination for writers to improve their craft; a haven for readers to geek out about books; and a platform to kickstart your writing goals.
http://litreactor.com/

NaNoWriMo 
November is National Novel Writing Month. Write an entire novel in one month, and receive writing tips and support all year long.
http://www.nanowrimo.org/

Poetry 180 
A poem a day for American High Schools from the Library of Congress. Poetry 180 is designed to make it easy for students to hear or read a poem each day of the 180 days of the school year.
http://www.loc.gov/poetry/180/

Poetry Daily 
A new contemporary poem and poet are featured daily. Poetry news, reviews, and interviews.
http://poems.com/

Poetry Foundation 
Lots of resources for poets and those interested in poetry. Includes podcasts, videos, events and awards and even a poem-finding tool.
http://www.poetryfoundation.org/

Poets & Writers 
Online tools for writers, grant opportunities, discussion forums, and more.
http://www.pw.org/

Shmoop Literature 
Shmoop wants to make you a better lover (of literature, poetry and writing).  Shmoop study guides are written primarily by Ph.D. and Masters students, and other good reliable sources.
http://www.shmoop.com/literature/

SparkNotes 
Online study guides on literature and other subjects, written by Harvard subject specialists.
http://www.sparknotes.com/sparknote
s/


Yahoo! Directory: Literature/Authors 
Browse categories or search for authors' websites, interviews, and more.
http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanitie
s/Literature/Authors/


Last updated: Sep. 12, 2013
This page maintained by Tony H.

 
ASK US

CATALOG SEARCHES
Books and Reading
Book Clubs
Best Books
 
EVENTS
Conversation Circles
 
MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Connecting to Library Databases
 
NEW TOPIC
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS