home » do your homework » government & politics

Government & Politics

Sub-Topics

• Federal Government
• International Government
• Issues
 
• National Politics
• State & Local Government
• Statistics

Databases    

CQ Researcher
Reports address the most current and controversial issues of the day with detailed discussions of the various sides of the issues, summaries, bibliographies, and links to related stories. Pro/Con section presents opposing sides of an issue. Content goes back to 1991. more info.

Discovering Collection
Content covers history, literature, biography, science, and social studies. Resources include primary sources, essays, critical analyses, biographies, creative works, and multimedia. more info.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Social issues covered by pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images, and podcasts. more info.

 

Websites

Minnesota Datanet 
Statistics about social, economic and demographic conditions in Minnesota.
http://www.lmic.state.mn.us/datanet
web/


Bureau of Justice Statistics 
Data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/

Statistical Abstract 
Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations
http://www.census.gov/compendia/sta
tab/


FactCheck.org 
Non partisan "consumer advocate" monitors the accuracy of what politicians say in public.
http://www.factcheck.org

White House 
The Briefing Room, the Issues, the Administration, About the White House, and Our Government are all at your fingertips.
http://www.whitehouse.gov/

Open Secrets 
Your guide to the effect money has in U.S. elections
http://www.opensecrets.org/

World Leaders 
The CIA's online directory of Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments.
https://www.cia.gov/library/publica
tions/world-leaders-1/index.html


Congresslink 
Find out what our legislators are voting on and working on here.
http://congresslink.org

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government 
Historical documents, election process, how laws are made and more. From the U.S. Government.
http://bensguide.gpo.gov/9-12/index
.html


Capitol Roundup 
News and commentary about MN government and politics from community newspapers.
http://hometownsource.com/category/
capitol-news/


CIA 
What do you know about the Central Intelligence Agency? Find out what they really do and how they do it.
https://www.cia.gov/kids-page/6-12t
h-grade/index.html


CNN's Politics 
News, opinion and analysis by CNN.
http://www.cnn.com/POLITICS/

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy 
Links to Cornerstone, Congressional, Presidential and other important primary source documents.
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/coredocs.h
tml


Daily Kos 
A partisan Democratic blog featuring diaries and commentaries from a variety of people, including politicians, elected officials, and bloggers.
http://www.dailykos.com/

Europa: Gateway to the European Union 
Links to official EU documents and publications, including EU-wide surveys and opinion polls and the libraries and documentation centers that host them.
http://europa.eu/documentation/inde
x_en.htm


FedStats 
Provides easy access to the full range of statistics produced by more than 70 federal agencies.
http://www.fedstats.gov/

Kids.gov 
For grades 6-8, as well as younger kids, find government and state information here.
http://kids.gov/

Library Subject Guide: Government Information 
Check out more resources selected by Hennepin County librarians.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
jectGuides.cfm?Topic=Government
%20Information


Library Subject Guide: Law & Courts 
Check out more resources selected by Hennepin County librarians.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
jectGuides.cfm?Topic=Law/Courts


Library Subject Guide: Minnesota Politics & Elections 
Check out more resources selected by Hennepin County librarians.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
Topics.cfm?Topic=Politics/Elect
ions&SubTopic=Minnesota


Library Subject Guide: National Politics & Elections  
Check out more resources selected by Hennepin County librarians.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
Topics.cfm?Topic=Politics/Elect
ions&SubTopic=National%20Links


Library Subject Guide: Politics & Elections 
Check out more resources selected by Hennepin County librarians.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
jectGuides.cfm?Topic=Politics/E
lections


Minnesota House of Representatives 
Everything you need to know about the House in Minnesota.
http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/

Minnesota Legislative Manual (Blue Book) 
Describes agency functions, executive office terms, legislators and districts. Includes key documents in Minnesota state history.
http://www.sos.state.mn.us/home/ind
ex.asp?page=1468


Minnesota Legislators, Past and Present 
A comprehensive list of legislators who have served in the state legislature since territorial times.
http://www.leg.state.mn.us/legdb/in
dex.asp


Minnesota North Star 
Minnesota's state government information portal.
http://www.state.mn.us/portal/mn/js
p/home.do?agency=NorthStar


Minnesota Public Radio 
A non-profit, noncommercial source of news, politics and entertainment programming.
http://minnesota.publicradio.org/co
llections/politics/


Minnesota Senate 
Everything you need to know about the Senate in Minnesota.
http://www.senate.leg.state.mn.us/

MPR's Votetracker 
Follow key issues and find out how legislators vote on them in the MN Legislature.
http://minnesota.publicradio.org/pr
ojects/ongoing/votetracker/


MTV's Think 
Your Cause. Your Effect. Join this online community to take action on issues that are important to you.
http://think.mtv.com/Issues/politic
s/


National Public Radio  
A non-profit, noncommercial news, talk, and entertainment programming radio station.
http://www.npr.org/templates/topics
/topic.php?topicId=1014


Office of the Governor, Minnesota 
Information about Minnesota's governor.
http://www.governor.state.mn.us/

Political Issues in the Yahoo! Directory 
Quick way to find sites related to hot issues.
http://dir.yahoo.com/Government/Pol
itics/Political_Issues/


Project Vote Smart 
Biographical information and voting records for all U.S. elected officials. Current issues, biographies, and financial information for candidates for office. For information about Minnesota government click on 'My State'.
http://www.vote-smart.org/

Public Agenda Online 
Explore and understand critical issues at this non-partisan website that collects news reports, studies, and information on getting involved.
http://publicagenda.org/

RedState 
A conservative/Republican blog known for its "daily briefing" and diaries written by contributors from across the country.
http://redstate.com/

State and Local Government on the Net Index 
A directory of official state, county, and city government websites.
http://www.statelocalgov.net/

Supreme Court of the United States 
Everything you need to know about the Supreme Court.
http://www.supremecourtus.gov/

Thomas: U.S. Congress on the Internet 
Describes the legislative process and committees. Full text of new bills and public laws.
http://thomas.loc.gov/

U.S. Constitution 
Read the text of the Constitution yourself.
http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/ch
arters/constitution_transcript.html


U.S. Department of State 
Information on U.S. foreign policy, background information on countries, international travel and business resources.
http://www.state.gov/

U.S. Electoral College 
Find out how the Electoral College works here.
http://www.archives.gov/federal-reg
ister/electoral-college/index.html


U.S. House of Representatives 
Everything you need to know about the House.
http://www.house.gov/

U.S. Senate 
Everything you need to know about the Senate.
http://www.senate.gov/

U.S.A. Gov 
Includes documents, journal articles and numerous links to agencies and government documents.
http://www.usa.gov/

United Nations Cyberschoolbus 
Explore global issues and the UN here.
http://cyberschoolbus.un.org/

White House 
The Briefing Room, the Issues, the Administration, the White House, and Our Government are all right here.
http://www.whitehouse.gov/

Last updated: Jan. 13, 2013
This page maintained by Tracy H.

 
ASK US

MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Connecting to Library Databases
 
NEW TOPIC
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS