home » do your homework » history & biography

History & Biography

Sub-Topics

• Biographies
• Family History
• History Day Projects
• Minnesota History
 
• The Arts
• United States History
• World History

Databases    

Discovering Collection
Content covers history, literature, biography, science, and social studies. Resources include primary sources, essays, critical analyses, biographies, creative works, and multimedia. more info.

Junior Reference Collection
Information from reference books about people, places, history, science, and more. Includes audio, video, photos, and maps. more info.

U.S. History In Context
Primary documents, secondary sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history. Formerly titled History Resource Center: U.S. more info.

World Book Online
In addition to the well-known encyclopedia, offers headline news explored in depth, primary sources, pathfinders, atlases and images and a dictionary. more info.

World History In Context
Broad coverage moving chronologically from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe. Content includes primary sources, reference books, periodicals, maps, atlases and images. more info.

 

Websites

Food Timeline 
Food history from prehistoric times to the present.
http://www.foodtimeline.org/

FilmSite 
History of the Hollywood film industry from the pre-1900s thro...more
http://www.filmsite.org/

Art Cyclopedia: the fine art search engine 
Discover artists and movements by timeline, name, subject and nationality.
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/

Minnesota Video Vault 
Video clips of the people, places and issues of Minnesota are from documentaries, interviews and performances from the T...more
http://www.mnvideovault.org/

Performing Arts Encyclopedia 
From the Library of Congress, resources include videos, sound files, manuscripts, sheet music, essays and more pertainin...more
http://www.loc.gov/performingarts/

Show all websites
Last updated: Aug. 8, 2012
This page maintained by Mechelle F.

 
ASK US

CATALOG SEARCHES
History
World History
United States History
Biography
Autobiography
 
MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Connecting to Library Databases
 
NEW TOPIC
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS