home » do your homework » magazines & newspapers

Magazines & Newspapers

Sub-Topics

• Local
• Magazines
• Newspapers

Databases    

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740–1941
Digitized images of articles from 1740-1940 covering art, history, literature, politics, education and general news. Original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts. more info.

General Reference Center Gold
General-interest newspapers, journals, magazines, videos on current events, popular culture, business and industry, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies. 1980-present. more info.

Historical New York Times, 1851–2009
Offers full page and article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue. See ProQuest Digital Microfilm for current articles. more info.

Informe!
El texto completo de 50 de los más populares periódicos y diarios de habla hispana y bilingües, incluyendo el periódico en español El Nuevo Herald (Miami, FL). more info.

InfoTrac Student
Secondary school periodicals, reference books covering politics, current events, arts and entertainment, automobiles, recreation and leisure, crime. Includes historical images and maps. 1985-present. more info.

MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for popular high school magazines, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags, color PDFs. more info.

MasterFILE Premier
Topics include business, health, education, and general science. Content includes full-text periodical articles, general reference books, primary sources, photos, and maps. Coverage back to 1975. more info.

Middle Search Plus
Full text for more than 100 middle school magazines are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Thousands of biographies, historical essays, primary source documents and images including photos, maps, flags, and color PDFs are also available. more info.

ProQuest
Search multiple magazine and newspaper resources, in addition to business databases. more info.

StarTribune
Full text of articles from the newspaper, 1986 to present. See also Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) and ProQuest Digital Microfilm. more info.

Student Resources in Context
Subjects include biography, literature, history, science, and multiculturalism. Includes full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary documents, topical essays, biographies, critical analyses, timelines, photos and maps. more info.

Zinio
Choose from a varied collection of magazines that can be read on any Internet-enabled device. more info.

 

Websites

MinnPost 
A nonprofit eZine where professional journalists share video and audio as well as written stories. It also includes commentary pieces from the community, and comments from readers on individual stories.
http://www.minnpost.com/

The Tattoo 
Offering the best International, award winning, student journalism from around the world. The Tattoo is written entirely by young people and covers a variety of current issues.
http://www.readthetattoo.com/

Watching America 
Translates articles from around the world and reflects global opinions about the U.S.  It helps Americans and Non-Americans understand what the world thinks about current issues involving the U.S. "WatchingAmerica" translations, are not the views of this website and information is only used for sharing.
http://watchingamerica.com/News/

AdMongo 
Play an online game to answer these questions: Who makes ads? How do they work? What do they want you to do?
http://www.admongo.gov/

Popular Science Archive 
137-year archive for free browsing. Each issue appears just as it did at its original time of publication, complete with period advertisements.
http://www.popsci.com/archives

MN Magazine Search Page 
Index to articles on local and statewide politics, news, current events, history and the arts that appeared in nine Minnesota magazines from 1991 to 2005.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/mnm
ag/


Minnesota Newspapers Directory 
Browse a complete list of Minnesota newspapers. The list is arranged alphabetically by city, then by the newspaper.
http://www.mnnews.com/

Broken Pencil 
Reviews the best zines, books, websites, videos, and artwork from the underground and reprints the best articles from the alternative press.
http://www.brokenpencil.com/

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers 
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

City Pages 
This "news and arts weekly of the Twin Cities," lets you know what concerts are happening, where to find art and cultural events, and more...
http://www.citypages.com/

Findarticles.com 
Features over 3 million free articles from over 500 magazines and journals dating back to 1998. Search by topic or publication.
http://www.findarticles.com/

Library Magazine & Newspaper List 
Everything that the Library subscribes to and where to find it.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/HCL
PerList/


Library Subject Guide: Magazines & Newspapers  
Check out more resources selected by Hennepin County librarians.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Sub
jectGuides.cfm?Topic=Magazines/
Newspapers


Minnesota Newspapers Directory 
Browse a complete list of Minnesota newspapers. The list is arranged alphabetically by city, then by the newspaper's title.
http://www.mnnews.com/

Newslink Newspapers 
A directory of magazine, newspaper, radio, television, and major news services. Includes links to national and international newspapers by region, type of paper (ex. Daily, non-daily, etc.)
http://newslink.org/news.html

NewspaperArchive.com 
Fee based service that provides access to millions of searchable and downloadable newspaper pages dating from 1753 to current. Free trial memberships are available
http://newspaperarchive.com/Desktop
Default.aspx


OldMagazineArticles.com 
Find PDFs from the original magazines posted on a variety of historic and entertainment topics, all arranged by subject.
http://oldmagazinearticles.com/

Online Newspapers.com 
Links to thousands of newspapers, arranged by country.
http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/

Secrets of the City 
Striving to be the "Twin Cities premiere storyteller offering readers stories, essays, reportage, and humor." Browse current issues and back issues online.
http://www.secretsofthecity.com/

St. Paul Pioneer Press | TwinCities.com 
Check out articles in today's Pioneer Press and the classified ads.
http://www.twincities.com/

Star Tribune 
Check out articles in today's paper and the classified ads.
http://www.startribune.com/

Sun Newspapers Online 
411 Local community newspapers online
http://www.mnsun.com/

Time Magazine Archive 
Full-text articles as well as magazine covers, going back to 1923.
http://www.time.com/time/archive

Wall Street Journal Classroom Edition 
Business and finance news for teens.
http://classroomedition.com/cre/

Last updated: Aug. 8, 2012
This page maintained by Jody W.

 
ASK US

MAGAZINE & NEWSPAPER LIST
Locate magazines and newspapers
 
MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Connecting to Library Databases
 
NEW TOPIC
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS