home » do your homework »

Original documents, oral histories, and artifacts created during the time or event you are studying that are not filtered by interpretation. May also be materials created at a later date by someone who lived through that time period or historical event.
 

Websites

BibMe 
Automatically generates a bibliography for you to copy or download once you enter title, author or ISBN.
http://www.bibme.org

Minnesota Reflections 
A searchable database of thousands of images and documents from Minnesota history.  Browsable by collection, topic and region.
http://reflections.mndigital.org/in
dex.php


A+ Research & Writing 
Step-by-step instructions for selecting a topic, gathering information, and organizing a research project.
http://www.ipl.org/div/aplus/

American Memory from the Library of Congress 
Both written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.  Includes more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.h
tml


James K. Hosmer Special Collections 
More than 25,000 books and other materials in ten unique collections for reference and research use. Located at our Central Library.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/spe
cialcollections/


Purdue OWL 
Guides to developing an outline, writing a thesis statement, using correct grammar and punctuation and more from Purdue University Online Writing Lab.
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents 
Historical documents from the pre-colonial era to the present from the University of Oklahoma College of Law.
http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/

Writing Center Handouts 
Tips for almost every aspect of writing a paper, including writing style, tips for specific assignments, and writing for different audiences. From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
http://www.unc.edu/depts/wcweb/hand
outs/index.html


Repositories of Primary Sources 
Links for over 5000 primary source collections from around the world.
http://www.uiweb.uidaho.edu/special
-collections/Other.Repositories
.html


Research Project Calculator 
Develop a step-by-step schedule for your research project!
http://rpc.elm4you.org/

100 Milestone Documents 
Chronicles American history through primary sources from 1776 to 1965.
http://www.ourdocuments.gov/content
.php?flash=true&page=milestone


AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History 
Personal accounts and other primary sources from the years 800 to the present.
http://www.vlib.us/amdocs/

American Folklife Center 
Content may include audio samples of music and stories, digital images of rare letters and photographs, and video clips focusing on the living traditions of regular folk.
http://www.loc.gov/folklife/onlinec
ollections.html


American Presidency Project 
Searchable database containing over 86,000 documents related to the Presidency. Contains full texts of inaugural addresses, executive orders, press conferences, State of the Union addresses, Fireside Chats, debates, and other presidential statements, addresses, and orders.
http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/inde
x.php


American Rhetoric 
Full text, audio and video versions of famous speeches and other recorded media events.
http://www.americanrhetoric.com

Ask Oxford 
Enjoy the world of words through puzzles, quotations, writing tips, etymology, and more.
http://www.askoxford.com

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy 
Law, history, economics, politics, government and diplomacy primary documents arranged by century.  Also information about human rights cases and special collections such as the International Military Tribunal of Germany (the Nuremberg Trials).
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.
asp


British Museum 
Explore the museum's collection based on themes, highlights, world cultures or in the museum's online database containing hundreds of thousands of items.
http://www.britishmuseum.org/explor
e/explore_introduction.aspx


Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers 
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

Citing Electronic Information 
Links to recommended electronic information citation guides.
http://www.ipl.org/div/farq/netcite
FARQ.html


EuroDocs 
Primary sources from European history.
http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php
/Main_Page


Finding Information on the Internet: A Tutorial 
It's not always as easy as Google.  Learn to use the internet for research and do it right.
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/Teachin
gLib/Guides/Internet/FindInfo.html


Google Docs 
Create a Google account and use this free site to create or upload word processing or spreadsheet files and save them online.
http://docs.google.com/

Historic Government Publications from World War II 
Hundreds of U.S. publications from World War II are available in this digital collection.
http://digitalcollections.smu.edu/a
ll/cul/hgp/


Historical Maps of the United States 
Historical Maps of U.S. Cities, National Historic Parks, Memorials, Military Parks and Battlefields
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/hist
us.html


History Matters 
A gateway to 1,000+ primary resources and annotated web sites organized by topic and time period.
http://historymatters.gmu.edu

Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties 
Government laws, executive orders and treaties with Native American tribes. Minnesota tribes include the Dakota Sioux and the Ojibwe (also known as the Chippewa).
http://digital.library.okstate.edu/
kappler/


Louvre Museum 
Available in English, and featuring digital images from its famous collection.
http://www.louvre.fr/llv/commun/hom
e_flash.jsp?bmLocale=en


Making of America 
American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.  Focus on books and journal articles about  education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science and technology.
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary 
Search a dictionary or thesaurus. Also provides audio pronunciation.
http://www.m-w.com/

Metropolitan Museum of Art 
More than two million works of art from ancient through modern times.
http://www.metmuseum.org/explore/in
dex.asp?HomePageLink=explore_l


Minneapolis Collection 
Covers all aspects of the city's history. Includes books, photographs, high school yearbooks, periodicals, maps, and thousands of files of newspaper clippings.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/spe
cialcollections/minneapoliscoll
ection.cfm


Minneapolis Photo Collection 
Digitized photos from Minneapolis Central Library's special collection.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/Mpl
sPhotos/


Minnesota Historical Society Collections 
Access to papers, visual resources, death indexes, and much more.
http://www.mnhs.org/collections/ind
ex.htm


MN Magazine 
Index of articles on local and statewide politics, news, current events, history and the arts that appeared in nine Minnesota magazines from 1991 to 2005.
http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/mnm
ag/


MN Video Vault 
Interviews, documentaries and more created by Twin Cities Public Television on Minnesota subjects.

http://www.mnvideovault.org/

Museum of Modern Art Online 
Online exhibits from six departments: architecture & design, drawings, film & media, painting & sculpture, photography, and prints & illustrated books, as well as access to the general collection online.
http://www.moma.org/

National Archives Digital Vault 

Explore primary sources about U.S. government, culture, and history.


http://www.digitalvaults.org/

National Gallery of Art 
Search online collection of art primarily from Europe and the United States.  Videos and audio/video/music podcasts focusing on parts of the collection are available.
http://www.nga.gov/home.htm

New York Times Topics 
All the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, and audio & video files published by the New York Times dating back to 1981.
http://www.nytimes.com/pages/topics
/


NYPL Digital Gallery 
Explore manuscripts, maps, posters, prints, photographs and more from New York Public Library.
http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypl
digital/index.cfm


Old Magazine Articles 
Find PDFs from the original magazines posted on a variety of historic and entertainment topics, all arranged by subject.
http://oldmagazinearticles.com/

Our Documents 
100 milestone documents of American history
http://www.ourdocuments.gov/index.p
hp?flash=true&


Primary Documents in American History 
Documents from 1763 - 1877 from the Library of Congress.
http://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/o
urdocs/PrimDocsHome.html


Remember.org: A Cybrary of the Holocaust 
Features artwork, maps, photos, writings, and survivor accounts dedicated to preserving memories of the Holocaust.
http://www.remember.org/index.html

Smithsonian 
Check out Encyclopedia Smithsonian where topics are organized in three areas: Art & Design, History & Culture, and Science & Technology so you can explore the collection online.
http://www.si.edu/

SparkNotes 
Online study guides on literature and other subjects, written by Harvard subject specialists.
http://www.sparknotes.com

Thesaurus.com 
Find words and their synonyms and antonyms.
http://www.thesaurus.com/

THOMAS: Legislative Information  
Federal government's historical documents as well as the current legislative record.
http://thomas.loc.gov/

Using Primary Sources on the Web 
A short guide to finding and evaluating primary sources on the Internet.
http://www.ala.org/rusa/sections/hi
story/resources/pubs/usingprima
rysources


What is Plagiarism? 
Explains the importance of citing sources. QuickStudy Guide from the University of Minnesota Libraries.
http://tutorial.lib.umn.edu/infomac
hinef7e7.html


World Digital Library 
Discover primary documents from around the world.
http://www.wdl.org/en/

Writing a Paper 
Useful tips for getting started, finding sources, taking notes, and writing and managing Paper stress.
http://kidshealth.org/teen/school_j
obs/school/writing_papers.html


Last updated:

 
ASK US

MORE INFORMATION
Databases vs. Websites
Connecting to Library Databases
 
NEW TOPIC
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS