Hennepin County Library - KidLinks
homework tools
home > homework help > reading & language arts
 
reading & language arts
DATABASES
 
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Full-text of widely read poems, including commentaries and biographies.
Kids InfoBits
For beginning researchers in K-5. Full-text content is from elementary reference sources and magazines. Topics cover geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history and sports.
Kids Search
Offers magazine articles, biographies, essays, science resources, primary source documents, photos and maps. For elementary and middle school students.
Literature Resource Center
Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Topics covered include English, Modern Languages, Ancient History and Classics, Women's Studies, and Cultural Studies. Coverage goes back to 1400.
NoveList K-8 Plus
Locate age-appropriate fiction and nonfiction reading materials for children and teens. Includes discussion guides, reviews and articles.
Searchasaurus
Search for encyclopedia and magazine articles about your favorite topic. Includes images and a dictionary. For kids in grades K-5.
TumbleBook Library
Animated, talking picture books. Kindergarten - Gr. 5. Highlighted text. Some titles in Spanish and French.
 
 
WEBSITES
 
Author Websites 
Fun facts about favorite authors with links to their websites.
Award Winning Books 
Lists of award winning books with links to the catalog.
Books & Reading 
Booklists from Hennepin County Library to help you find the right book to read.
Books for Beginning Readers 
Titles for emerging readers, from easiest words to first chapter books.
Giggle Poetry 
Hundreds of poems for kids to read and rate.
Grammar Gorillas 
Nouns, verbs, adjectives and more. Click here to practice naming parts of speech.
Guided Reading Levels, Lexile Score & Accelerated Reader 
Information about these reading tools.