bookspacePhoto of readermy comments
 home > bookspace > my comments > comment: composed : a memoir /
Subscribe via RSS 
Composed : a memoir
Rosanne Cash
Adult Nonfiction ML420.C2654 A3 2010

Comments  Summary  Excerpt  Reviews  Author Notes

From Publishers' Weekly:

This work is a rare treat, as Cash, firstborn to country music legend Johnny Cash, is not only a hereditary celebrity musician, having made scores of albums and #1 singles, but a terrific writer in her own right. Indeed, her memoir is an intensely reflective, carefully hewn chronicle of her coming-into-her-own as a writer. Born in 1955 to Johnny Cash's littleknown first wife, Vivian, just at the breakthrough of her father's music career with the hit "Cry, Cry, Cry," Cash describes herself as a "pudgy, withdrawn girl" already aware that she was "a counterfeit with a strange, hidden life." That included an anxious mother, three younger sisters, and a father who was frequently absent and erratic, due to his abuse at the time of amphetamines and barbiturates. From growing up in Southern California to visits to her father's house in Hendersonville, Tenn., Cash idolized her father and rarely questioned his authority, such as sending her off to work at CBS Records in London at age 20. At Vanderbilt University, she studied with Walter Sullivan; toyed with Method acting in L.A.; then recorded four demos in Munich, Germany, for Ariola Records, away from the scrutiny of comparison with her father. Cash depicts pensively her early delight in analogue recording and honing her writing craft. Despite an inordinate preponderance of funeral eulogies and some odd structuring toward the end, Cash's memoir sheds clear light on her talent and drive. (Aug.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

From Library Journal:

Singer-songwriter Rosanne Cash is much more than Johnny Cash's daughter, but the presence of the Man in Black looms large in her memoir. Cash recounts stories of growing up, getting into the music business, evolving as a songwriter, and going through a divorce, brain surgery, and the loss of her parents. She writes about her relationship with her father, Johnny and June Carter Cash's marriage, and her connection with the early 20th-century folk-country tradition via the Carter family. Although Cash discusses her recordings and a few of her most poignant songs in detail, some readers will wish for a book that delves into the entire body of her work. Cash includes the texts of eulogies she wrote for the funerals of her mother, father, and stepmother. VERDICT Fans of Rosanne and Johnny Cash will find this essential, as she offers insight into their lives, the importance of family, and the music industry. Highly recommended. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 3/15/10; ebook available; eight-city author tour.]-James E. Perone, Univ. of Mount Union, Alliance, OH (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Be the first to add a comment! Share your thoughts about this title. Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

Question about returns, requests or other account details?
 Add a Comment
Submission Guidelines

Find this title in the Library Catalog
Find this title in the Library Catalog


more titles about

recent comments
hcl mobile app
hclib
mobile
app
Facebook Twitter Tumblr YouTube Vimeo Flickr Federal Depository Library Federal
Depository
Library
Hennepin County Government Hennepin
County
Government
© 2014  Hennepin County Library12601 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305 Comments and Feedback    |    RSS