Library Board meeting minutes - March 24, 2021

The public is welcome at all library board meetings

The Hennepin County Library Board met on Wednesday, March 24, 2021, virtually via Microsoft Teams.


Present: Jonathan Gaw, Amal Karim, Tim Dolan, Adja Kaba, Labelle Nambangi, Erin Vrieze-Daniels, Gordy Aune Jr, Keegan Xavi, Lynn Stetler, Sam Neisen and Jane Brissett

Hennepin County Staff: Chad Helton, Jeannette Lewis, Janet Mills, Johannah Genett, Deborah Johnson, Ayanna Muata, Christy Mulligan, Kimberly Nicholson, Deqa Hassan, Alexis Hailey-Brown, Commissioner Kevin Anderson and Commissioner Debbie Goettel


Call to Order

Chair Erin Vrieze Daniels called the Hennepin County Library Board meeting of March 24, 2021 to order at 5:30 p.m. and welcomed all in attendance.

Approval of Agenda

Motion: Gordy Aune, Jr
Seconded: Jonathan Gaw
Motion passed.

Approval of Consent Items

Motion: Tim Dolan
Seconded: LaBelle Nambangi
Motion passed with three modifications on the January 27, 2021 meeting summary.

Public Comment

No public comment.

County Commissioner Update

Newly appointed Hennepin County Commissioner Kevin Anderson, who represents District 7, introduced himself to the Library Board. Commissioner Anderson also gave an overview of his current and future work.

Library Dialogue

Library staff gave a presentation on the Library’s equity, diversity and inclusion initiatives. Staff shared information on a newly launched program called the Mary-Ann Key book club. The collaboration is a part of HCL’s continued work to advance equity, diversity and inclusion through public programs. Staff shared some strategic work the Library is doing to advance workforce diversity through hiring, SCOPE Internships and Trainee positions.

President’s Report

Chair Erin Vrieze Daniels introduced the Library Boards two newest members, Amal Karim and Lynn Stetler.

Director’s Report

Director Chad Helton spoke to the Library Board on Library, Community, and County Updates.

2021 Policy Review

Board members discussed the first read of the Library Board Fee and Fine Policy, presented by the Policy Committee Chair. The Board voted on the proposed amendments and the renaming of the policy to Library Board Fee Policy.

Motion: LaBelle Nambangi
Seconded: Gordy Aune, Jr
Motion passed.

Committee Reports

The Executive Committee will present the 2021 -2022 Library Board calendar to the full Board in May for discussion and approval. The Board agreed on an email response from the Board president to a member of the public. The Nominating Committee put forth a slate recommending Jonathan Gaw as the temporary Vice President of the Library Board replacing former board member and Vice President Sheila Letscher. The Board voted on the Nominating Committee’s recommendation.

Motion: LaBelle Nambangi
Seconded: Gordy Aune, Jr
Motion passed.

Friends of the Hennepin County has programming coming up in their Pen Pals and Talk of the Stacks series.

The Budget Committee is planning to have a committee meeting in May. Date and agenda for the committee meeting has yet to be finalized.

Unfinished Business

No unfinished business.

New Business

No new business.


There being no further business, Adja Kaba made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:03 p.m.; seconded by Gordy Aune, Jr. Motion passed. The next meeting of the Hennepin County Library Board will be held at 5:30 p.m., Wednesday, May 5, 2021, virtually via Microsoft Teams.