Library Board meeting minutes - May 4, 2022

The public is welcome at all library board meetings

The Hennepin County Library Board met on Wednesday, May 4, 2022, virtually via Microsoft Teams.


Present: Adja Kaba, Jane Brissett, Tim Dolan, Lynn Stetler, Erin Vrieze Daniels, Michael Hogan, Gordy Aune, Jr., Kimberly Urig, Briana Eicheldinger, Amal Karim

Hennepin County Staff: Dan Rogan, J.R. Genett, Patti Hetrick, Jeannette Lewis, Amy McNally, Ann Woodson-Hicks, Pat Zagaros, Steve Voeller, Debbie Goettel, Ali Turner


Call to Order

President Adja Kaba called the Hennepin County Library Board meeting of May 4, 2022, to order at 5:30 p.m. and welcomed all in attendance.

Approval of Agenda

No changes were made to the agenda.
Motion: Jane Brissett
Seconded: Lynn Stetler
Motion passed.

Approval of Consent Items

Approval of the revised minutes of March 23, 2022, and Acceptance of Donations.
Meeting Minutes
Motion: Gordy Aune Jr.
Seconded: Michael Hogan
Motion passed.

Approval of Consent Items
Motion: Erin Vrieze Daniels
Seconded: Gordy Aune Jr.
Motion passed.

Public Comment

No Public comment was made.

President’s Report

President Adja Kaba had one announcement for the board members pertaining to per diem requests.

President Adja Kaba and Board Member Erin Vrieze Daniels attended the PLA Conference and reported on their experience at the conference. They encouraged the board to attend conferences, when possible, to build a better board, continue education for the board, and connect with other library boards and members.

Interim Director’s Report

Interim Director Dan Rogan spoke to the Library Board on Library, Community, and County Updates. Rogan shared that the County Board approved the board action request for strategic planning vendors. Rogan updated the board on the Youth Advisory Committee and upcoming library celebrations.

Library Staff Dialogue

Chief Financial Officer Patti Hetrick introduced staff member Ann Woodson-Hicks to present on capital projects and operations. Ann shared details on the current work of the operations team the affect the pandemic has had on their work. She shared that while capital projects are generally on hold, smaller library preservation projects have continued.

Committee Reports

The Nominating Committee made recommendations and nominations for Library Board officers. The Nominating Committee submitted the following nominations: Adja Kaba for President, Jane Brissett for Vice President, and Lynn Stetler for Secretary.

Motion: Erin Vrieze Daniels
Seconded: Tim Dolan
Motion passed.

Vice President
Motion: Tim Dolan
Seconded: Gordy Aune, Jr.
Motion passed.

Motion: Tim Dolan
Seconded: Gordy Aune, Jr.
Motion passed.

The Library Board voted and approved President Adja Kaba, Vice President Jane Brissett and Secretary Lynn Stetler.

The next Executive Committee meeting is June 1, 2022.

The Friends of Hennepin County Library (FHCL) Committee reported on the friends fundraising and upcoming Pen Pals programs.

The Budget and Long-term Planning Committee is working with the library to get updates and a timeline for the Budget.

The Policy Committee revised and brought to the board the Commissioned Public Art Policy and the Donations Policy.
Commissioned Public Art Policy
Motion: Jane Brissett.
Seconded: Erin Vrieze Daniels
Motion passed.

2022-2023 Meeting Schedule

The Library Board discussed the 2022-2023 meeting schedule with revisions. The Board amended the meeting schedule.
Motion: Erin Vrieze Daniels
Seconded: Gordy Aune, Jr.
Motion passed.

Unfinished Business

No unfinished business.

New Business

Jane Brissett noted that Library Administration has drafted a communications policy that will be reviewed by the Policy Committee at its next meeting.


There being no further business, Erin Vrieze Daniels made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:04 p.m.; seconded by Amal Karim. Motion passed. The next meeting of the Hennepin County Library Board will be held at 5:30 p.m., Wednesday, June 22, 2022, at the Brookdale Library.