Executive Committee meeting summary - February 24, 2021

The public is welcome at all library board meetings

The Library Board Executive Committee met Wednesday, February 24, 2021, via Microsoft Teams.


Present: Erin Vrieze Daniels, Jonathan Gaw, Tim Dolan, Adja Kaba, Jane Brissett, Gordy Aune Jr, Lynn Stetler, Sam Neisen, and LaBelle Nambangi

Hennepin County Staff: Chad Helton, Janet Mills and Jeannette Lewis


Welcome and Call to Order

Chair Erin Vrieze Daniels called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. and welcomed attendees.

Approval of Agenda and Meeting summary

Adja Kaba made a motion to approve the agenda; second by Tim Dolan.

Tim Dolan made a motion to approve the January 13, 2021 meeting summary: second by Adja Kaba.

Committee Appointments

On Tuesday, February 16, 2021 Hennepin County Commissioners reappointed Adja Kaba to the Library Board. The County Commissioners also appointed two new Library Board members Lynn Stetler and Amal Karim. The Nominating Committee will bring forth a slate of names at the next full Board meeting for a vote by the Board on a new Vice President. Jonathan Gaw is the Chair of the Budget and Longterm Planning Committee. Jane Brissett is the Chair of the Policy Committee.

2021 Board Planning

Members of the committee discussed Board planning for 2021. Board planning items included Strategic Planning and Library Dialogue ideas and discussion.

2021-2023 Calendars

Committee members had open discussion on the plan to finalize the 2021 – 2023 meeting calendar at the Annual Library Board meeting.

Agenda – March 24, 2021 Board Meeting

Committee members discussed agenda items for the March 24, 2021 board meeting. Agenda items included an update from a County Commissioner and a library dialogue presentation from HCL staff.

New Business

No new business.


Adja Kaba made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:25 p.m.; Seconded by Tim Dolan